Home Formula 4Italian F4 Gabriele Mini leads Filip Ugran in Italian F4 free practice at Monza

Gabriele Mini leads Filip Ugran in Italian F4 free practice at Monza

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Gabriel Mini led Filip Ugran and Gabriel Bortolo in two disrupted Italian Formula 4 free practice sessions at Monza.

There were incidents towards the end of both sessions as drivers came to a stop on track, and an incident for Jasin Ferati brought out the red flags early in FP2.

Prema’s Mini spent most of the wet FP1 top of the order, going quickest with a 2m09.809s lap before finding improvements to extend his gap at the front.

It was Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran who beat him to top spot come the end of the session though, setting a 2m08.371s lap that was 0.392 seconds clear of Mini’s best and 0.623s faster than Bortoleto.

The session ended with yellow flags at turn four after Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli came to a stop.

Ugran set the early benchmark in FP2. He immediately went quicker than Mini’s earlier time with a 1m54.059s in the drier conditions, but that lap would be quickly beaten.

The times continued to improve thorughout the session and Mini once again put himself top with a 1m53.897s lap.

Improvements were haulted in the closing stages of the session when Abu Dhabi Racing’s Hamda Al Qubaisi (who runs with Prema/Iron Lynx support) came to a stop in the gravel at turn 7, but the incident was cleared with a few minutesleft on the clock.

Most of the field were able to find improvements, but nobody could match Mini. Ugran ended up in second, 0.094s back, with Prema’s Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic two tenths back in third place.

Title contenders Francesco Pizzi (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Andrea Rosso (Cram Motorsport) were fourth and fifth, and Bortoleto ended the day in sixth.

Sauber junior Dexter Peterson, Al Qubaisi, Piotr Wisnicki and Sebastian Montoya completed the top 10.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m53.897s 31
2 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.991s +0.094s 31
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m54.107s +0.210s 32
4 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.492s +0.595s 31
5 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m54.565s +0.668s 32
6 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m54.743s +0.846s 33
7 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m54.806s +0.909s 32
8 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m54.816s +0.919s 29
9 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.866s +0.969s 30
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m54.894s +0.997s 30
11 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport 1m55.009s +1.112s 31
12 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing 1m55.032s +1.135s 30
13 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m55.140s +1.243s 31
14 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m55.216s +1.319s 31
15 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m55.298s +1.401s 31
16 Lorenzo Fluxa AKM Motorsport 1m55.572s +1.675s 31
17 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m55.764s +1.867s 29
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m55.817s +1.920s 32
19 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m56.003s +2.106s 29
20 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m56.009s +2.112s 29
21 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m56.096s +2.199s 31
22 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m56.118s +2.221s 31
23 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m56.601s +2.704s 22
24 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m56.907s +3.010s 30
25 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m57.689s +3.792s 29
26 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m58.588s +4.691s 20
27 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m59.146s +5.249s 24