Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Fuoco secures crucial Mugello double pole

Fuoco secures crucial Mugello double pole

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Formula Renault 2.0 Alps championship leader Antonio Fuoco strengthened his title hopes by topping the timesheets in qualifying for the penultimate round of the season at Mugello.

The Italian was quickest amongst the Group A runners and set a faster lap than the previous Group B runners, headed by Dutchman Nyck de Vries.

In the first session, de Vries was mostly in a league of his own, ensuring a front row start for both races with his second-best time proving better than anyone else’s efforts in the group. Frenchman William Vermont took second, ahead of title contender Bruno Bonifacio and Jenzer’s Kevin Jorg. BVM’s Dario Capitanio rounded out the top five.

The second session produced, on average, laps more than half-a-second quicker than what was shown in Group B. Fuoco headed the proceedings, with teammate Luca Ghiotto securing a spot on the second row. Guilherme Silva took third, with Eurocup title hopeful Pierre Gasly in fourth and Parth Ghorpade in fifth.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 1:44.271
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:45.072
3 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 1:44.495
4 William Vermont ARTA Engineering 1:45.364
5 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP 1:44.680
6 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:45.387
7 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 1:44.930
8 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 1:45.437
9 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing 1:44.933
10 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 1:45.689
11 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:45.162
12 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:45.857
13 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing 1:45.460
14 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:45.934
15 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing 1:45.514
16 Konstantin Tereshchenko Interwetten.com Racing 1:46.284
17 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport 1:45.971
18 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 1:46.491
19 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix 1:46.505
20 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing 1:46.658
21 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 1:46.902
22 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:47.290
23 Andrea Baiguera Brixia Horse Power 1:47.046
24 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:47.301
25 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing 1:47.068
26 Francisco Amado Euronova Racing 1:47.782
27 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing 1:48.714
28 Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:48.176