Home Featured Frederick wins BRDC British F3 finale to become champion

Frederick wins BRDC British F3 finale to become champion

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick has become the first American to win a British Formula 3 championship by winning the final race of the season at Silverstone.

Frederick entered in a position where he only needed to finish the race to clinch the crown, and the polesitter had the advantage right away as he stormed into the lead at the start.

Title rival Kush Maini started alongside but dropped to fourth after an inadequate start.

Frederick gapped Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria to take a comfortable win for the second time this weekend, after dominating the first race.

That was despite there being 40 seconds remaining on the timing screen as the chequered flag was shown. Nonetheless, Frederick won by just over four seconds.

Faria took his first podium of the season with second, having joined the series mid-season. JHR Developments’ Ayrton Simmons rounded out the podium.

Hillspeed’s Oliver Clarke finished fourth, ahead of team-mate Sasakorn Chaimongkol. Maini slipped behind both into sixth in the closing stages.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Josh Skelton wasn’t far behind Maini in seventh, while Carlin’s Nazim Azman finished eighth on the road but received a five-second time penalty for exceeding track limits.

That promoted Hitech’s Reece Ushijima, who was excluded from race one, to eighth, ahead of weekend debutant Jonny Wilkinson and JHR’s Carter Williams.

Azman finished just outside of the top 10 in 11th.

Double R Racing’s Louis Foster got tangled up with Douglas Motorsport’s Ulysse de Pauw early in the race while running well in the top 10 and finished towards the back. Foster finished ahead on the road but penalties demoted him behind de Pauw in the race and the championship, where they fighting over third.

Douglas Motorsport’s Manaf Hijjawi was a lap down after pitting, while Chris Dittmann Racing’s Max Marzorati and Lanan Racing’s Bart Horsten failed to take the chequered flag.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 19m15.775s
2 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +4.121s
3 Ayrton Simmons JHR Developments +8.660s
4 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +9.932s
5 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +11.435s
6 Kush Maini Hitech GP +14.600s
7 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +15.562s
8 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +20.135s
9 Jonny Wilkinson Fortec Motorsports +22.404s
10 Carter Williams JHR Developments +23.129s
11 Nazim Azman Carlin +23.687s
12 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +24.851s
13 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +27.091s
14 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +27.617s
15 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +39.192s
16 Louis Foster Double R Racing +1m28.117s
17 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +1m33.117s
Ret Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Bart Horsten Lanan Racing
Fastest lap: Frederick, 1m54.564s

Championship standings
 Frederick 499   2 Maini 448   3 De Pauw 392   4 Foster 388   5 Azman 370   6 Skelton 320   7 Chaimongkol 320   8 Clarke 310   9 Pedersen 299   10 Horsten 288