Home Formula 4Italian F4 Francesco Pizzi holds off Mini at Misano to take Italian F4 lead

Francesco Pizzi holds off Mini at Misano to take Italian F4 lead

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Francesco Pizzi resisted pressure from Gabriele Mini to win the final Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Misano.

Reigning F4 United Arab Emirates champion Pizzi started second but snatched the race lead on the opening lap, leaving Mini to battle with his team-mate Dino Beganovic.

The two Prema drivers spent the opening laps battling with one another, allowing Van Amersfoort Racing’s Pizzi to break free and Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran to close onto the back of them.

Mini and Beganovic switched focus in the second half of the race, working together to close the gap to Pizzi again.

Mini was beginning to put pressure on the race leader in the final laps when an off for Bhaitech’s Sebastian Ogaard prompted a full course yellow period.

The race ended under yellow flags and, with no overtaking allowed, Pizzi claimed the victory as Mini and Beganovic completed the podium.

The main drama in the race occurred further back as Prema’s Sebastian Montoya battled race two winner Andrea Rosso for fifth.

Rosso defended well but Montoya was able to make a move down the inside of the Cram Motorsport driver. Rosso was left on the outside, allowing BVM Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti to follow Montoya through. Delli Guanti tried to continue the push forward past Montoya, but couldn’t make a move stick.

Montoya was left leading a train of drivers in the fight for fifth, but defended well to match his best result of the weekend.

Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio pipped Delli Guanti for sixth while Rosso dropped back to eighth with a suspected mechanical issue.

Iron Lynx debutant Leonardo Fornaroli and Sauber junior Dexter Patterson completed the top 10 after a race-long battle with Gabriel Bortoleto.


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 34m35.953s
2 Gabriele Mini Prema +0.583s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema +1.138s
4 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +1.437s
5 Sebastian Montoya Prema +7.330s
6 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +9.848s
7 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +10.282s
8 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +10.780s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +14.362s
10 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +14.941s
11 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +25.935s
12 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +28.742s
13 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech +29.074s
14 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +30.090s
15 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +32.454s
16 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +35.393s
17 Bence Valint Mucke Motorsport +37.238s
18 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport +46.600s
19 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +1m01.226s
20 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +1m02.022s
Ret Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech
Ret Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli
Fastest lap: Ugran, 1m34.917s

Championship standings
1 Pizzi 58   2 Mini 55   3 Ugran 45   4 Rosso 29   5 Beganovic 25   6 Montoya 24   7 Delli Guanti 22   8 Fornaroli 14   9 Bortoleto 12   10 Salmenautio 12