Home Formula 3GB3 Frederick ends British F3 opener with another win and points lead

Frederick ends British F3 opener with another win and points lead

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Kaylen Frederick moved to the top of the BRDC British Formula 3 points with a second win at Oulton Park.

The American won the first race at the circuit before a penalty, and took a redemptive victory in race three. An average of his fastest race laps from the first three races of the season put him on pole for race four, with Kush Maini alongside him.

Frederick made a great start and immediately broke free of any challenges, while Piers Prior made a similarly strong launch to move into fourth place and challenge his Lanan Racing team-mate Bart Horsten for third.

Series returnee Maini, driving for debuting team Hitech GP, was able to keep pace with Carlin’s Frederick for much of the race, but never came close to an overtake and eventually dropped back towards the end as Frederick aimed for fastest laps.

Prior had a better job of keeping his team-mate under pressure, so much so that Horsten crashed out at Island bend midway through the race. This promoted Prior to the podium, and also lifts him to fifth in the points.

Ahead of him in the championship are the drivers who finished immediately behind him on track, with fourth and fifth placed drivers Nazim Azman (Carlin) and Kiern Jewiss (Douglas Motorsport) now in third and second in the points respectively.

There was little overtaking during the race, with Jewiss leading much of the midfield pack in a train of cars. Chris Dittmann Racing’s Josh Skelton was closest to Jewiss in that train, while his team-mate Nico Varrone had a technical problem that meant his race ended in the pits.


Race results (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 19m51.168s
2 Kush Maini Hitech GP +2.280s
3 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +11.063s
4 Nazim Azman Carlin +13.557s
5 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +18.454s
6 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +18.808s
7 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +19.626s
8 Louis Foster Double R Racing +21.021s
9 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +21.317s
10 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +21.741s
11 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +23.048s
12 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +23.483s
13 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +27.086s
14 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +27.204s
15 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +27.309s
Ret Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Bart Horsten Lanan Racing
Fastest lap: Frederick, 1m30.812s

Championship standings
Frederick 87   2 Jewiss 79   3 Azman 78   4 Maini 64   5 Prior 60   6 Skelton 60   7 Chaimongkol 56   8 Clarke 51   9 Peixoto 49   10 De Pauw 46