Home News Fisher wins WHT heat four after Smith gets penalised for oily Copse off

Fisher wins WHT heat four after Smith gets penalised for oily Copse off

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Wayne Poole Racing’s Josh Fisher won the fourth Walter Hayes Trophy heat as a result of on-the-road victor Rory Smith being penalised for a track limits issue.

Smith started the heat in third place behind Swift Cooper’s Luke Cooper and Fisher, who took over the lead on lap one after making a better start than Cooper who dropped to fourth behind Smith and Andre Lafond.

B-M Racing driver Smith set fastest lap on lap two to get within 0.134 seconds of Fisher, then passed him on the next lap.

From there he had an easier job up front with no spray to worry about, as the track was wet from rain through the morning and the earlier heats, except a car had put oil down on the track and Smith was deemed to have gained an advantage when he encountered it at Copse and ran wide off track.

He finished the eight-lap race 1.527s clear of Fisher, but was penalised five seconds for his off which dropped him to fourth. Fisher therefore won by 1.744s ahead of Cooper, who could not quite get himself back into victory contention.

There was a close battle for fourth between Team Dolan’s Andre Lafond and Ammonite Motorsport’s Team USA scholar Thomas Schrage, but on the penultimate lap Schrage lost six seconds and ended up finishing sixth while Lafond finished third thanks to the impact of Smith’s penalty and behind those two were Team Canada scholar Kevin Foster in fifth.

In seventh was Australian Supercars racer Tim Blanchard, after he got past reigning South African Global Touring Cars champion Robert Wolk.

Adrian Laissac had to retire due to an electrical coil failure.

Race result (8 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Josh Fisher Wayne Poole Racing 9m38.607s
2 Luke Cooper Swift Cooper 1.744s
3 Andre Lafond Team Dolan 3.465s
4 Rory Smith B-M Racing 3.473s
5 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 5.391s
6 Kevin Foster Graham Brunton Racing 9.307s
7 Tim Blanchard Souley Motorsport 10.221s
8 Robert Wolk Kevin Mills Racing 11.661s
9 Miles Griffiths Hi-Tech Motorsport 12.902s
10 Will Lowing Souley Motorsport 13.926s
11 Lewis Fox Team Fox Racing 17.467s
12 Gaius Ghinn Privateer 20.852s
13 Ivor McCullough Team DDR 26.151s
14 Matthew Wrigley Privateer 27.369s
15 Andrew Schofield Kevin Mills Racing 27.788s
16 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan 28.797s
17 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team 29.045s
18 Craig Currie GT Motorsport 31.407s
19 Paul Mason Swift Cooper 33.342s
20 Alex Ames Sema Racing 35.454s
21 Derek Palmer Privateer 49.053s
22 Adam Fathers AF Racing 50.311s
23 Dave Porter Porter Motorsport 54.633s
24 Jeremy Caine Neil Fowler Motorsport 1m01.388s
25 George Ditchfield Privateer 1m02.129s
26 Alan Slater Swift Cooper 1 lap
Ret Klaus Dieter Haeckel Privateer
Ret Adrien Laissac Team Dolan
Fastest lap: Cooper, 1m10.160s