Home Formula 3GB3 Fielding wins again at Silverstone in wet-dry second race

Fielding wins again at Silverstone in wet-dry second race

by Peter Allen
Sennan Fielding

Photo: BRDC F4

Sennan Fielding claimed victory again at round five of the BRDC F4 Championship at Silverstone as he charged from eighth on slicks on a drying track in race two of the weekend.

Just as in race one, Fielding won less than two tenths of a second after surviving a last lap attack, this time with Brazilian rookie Gaetano Di Mauro.

The main difference on this occasion was that instead of leading from pole position, Fielding came from eighth on the reverse grid. Up front, pole-sitter Rahul Mayer led until being passed on lap two by fellow wet-shod driver Raoul Hyman. Hyman’s championship rival George Russell nosed ahead crossing the line at the beginning of lap four but Hyman retained the place.

Fielding was up to third ahead of Mayer by the end of lap two, and on lap four he got ahead of both Hyman and Russell to move into the lead, building up a lead of over five seconds by the end of lap five.

However, after starting 11th, Di Mauro was now up to second and lapping much faster than Fielding. By the start of the ninth and last lap he had caught the leader and would move ahead on the Wellington Straight, but Fielding regained the lead and crossed the finish line 0.157s ahead.

Fielding will have the chance to become the first driver to win all three races in a BRDC F4 weekend, with his fastest lap from race one enough to secure pole position for race three.

Will Palmer also charged to the front on slicks, going from 20th on the grid after his race one retirement to take third on lap six, going on to finish within three seconds of the winner.

Telmex-backed Rodrigo Fonseca came through from 15th to fourth, just ahead of Tom Jackson who pitted at the end of the formation lap to fit slicks.

Championship leader Russell won his battle with Hyman to be the best of the wet tyre runners in sixth, ahead of Arjun Maini, Mayer and Diego Borrelli.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap?
1 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport 9 laps in 20:21.356
2 Gaetano Di Mauro Petroball Racing +0.157
3 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +2.900
4 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +22.429
5 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +22.812
6 George Russell Lanan Racing +30.433
7 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +32.931
8 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +42.934
9 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +45.228
10 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +46.422
11 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +46.479
12 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +48.092
13 Connor Jupp Meridian Racing +49.397
14 Alex Palou Sean Walkinshaw Racing +54.237
15 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +59.537
16 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +1:00.634
17 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed +1:01.234
18 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +1:11.017
19 Jai Nijjar Meridian Racing +1:11.450
20 Tom Bale Chris Dittmann Racing +2 laps
Not classified
Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +8 laps
Struan Moore Lanan Racing +9 laps