Home Featured Fewtrell gives himself Eurocup title boost with Nurburgring race two win

Fewtrell gives himself Eurocup title boost with Nurburgring race two win

by Tim Lumb

R-ace GP’s Max Fewtrell moved up to second in the Formula Renault Eurocup standings after winning the second race of the weekend at the Nurburgring.

Fewtrell, who claimed pole position earlier in the morning, was not troubled when the lights went out to start the first lap.

The race was neutralised one lap later after AV Formula Axel Matus was spun into the pit wall running further back in the pack, with the red flag eventually coming out after marshals ran into trouble trying to get the heavily damaged car off the track.

When the race eventually restarted Fewtrell calmly kept hold of the lead, extending the gap between himself and team-mate Victor Martins to 2.249 seconds by the end of lap 15 when the chequered flag came out.

The 25 points moves him past Yifei Ye in the standings, who finished sixth behind championship leader Christian Lundgaard.

Charles Milesi gave R-ace GP a podium lockout after finishing the race in third, with Logan Sargeant then making it a historic 1-2-3-4 for the team.

The top seven was completed by Arden’s Oscar Piastri, marking no changes in the end result from the starting positions.

Tech 1 Racing’s Alexander Smolyar made up ground after starting the race in 10th to move into eighth by the time the safety car came out and the race was stopped, which is where he finished. Alex Peroni and Thomas Neubauer rounded out the points.

Doureid Ghattas won the Northern European Cup classification in 20th, with single-seater rookie Sharon Scolari taking her first podium in second and 23rd overall.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 15 laps
2 Victor Martins R-ace GP +2.249s
3 Charles Milesi R-ace GP +5.533s
4 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP +5.993s
5 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport +6.713s
6 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing +7.463s
7 Oscar Piastri Arden +8.757s
8 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing +10.635s
9 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport +12.144s
10 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing +17.182s
11 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport +17.505s
12 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing +19.087s
13 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports +19.846s
14 Sami Taoufik Arden +21.845s
15 Nikita Volegov Arden +22.857s
16 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing +23.550s
17 Freek Schothorst MP Motorsport +24.985s
18 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports +25.975s
19 Christian Munoz AV Formula +30.878s
20 Doureid Ghattas Anders Motorsport +32.712s
21 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing +1m05.521s
22 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport +1m17.207s
23 Sharon Scolari ScoRace Team +1m35.101s
24 Gabriel Gandulia R-ace GP +2 laps
Ret Eliseo Martinez AV Formula
Ret Najiy Razak JD Motorsport
Ret Axel Matus AV Formula
DNS Phil Hill Anders Motorsport
Fastest Lap: Fewtrell, 1m57.125s

Eurocup standings
?Lundgaard 215? ?2?Fewtrell 201.5? ?3 Ye 198 ??4 Martins 171? ?5?Sargeant 153? ?6?Colombo 117.5? ?7?Milesi 106.5? ?8?Peroni 78? ?9 Piastri 77? ?10?Maxwell 48

Northern European Cup standings
1?Ghattas 216? ?2?Gandulia 180? ?3?Hill 162? ?4?Sargeant 87? ?5 Martins 83? ?6?Scolari 62? ?7?Peroni 60? ?8?Neubauer 58? ?9?Milesi 57? ?10 Bird 52