Home Formula 3Euroformula Felipe Drugovich completes Spa sweep in Euroformula Open with race two win

Felipe Drugovich completes Spa sweep in Euroformula Open with race two win

by Craig Woollard


Felipe Drugovich won his fourth successive Euroformula Open race after dominating proceedings at Spa-Francorchamps.

Drugovich started from pole position but lost the lead to Teo Martin Motorsport?s Bent Viscaal on the run to Les Combes.

However, Drugovich retook the lead coming into the Bus Stop Chicane at the end of the first lap, and from there controlled the pace at the front, winning the 13-lap race by 1.4 seconds.

Alex Karkosik finished second, after starting from fifth following a grid penalty for his race one incident.

Karkosik pressured team-mate Marcos Siebert and Viscaal for a number of laps, before disposing of both in the same move with a double tow.

Viscaal took third place and top rookie honours after his race-long battle with Siebert. The pair were rarely separated during the duration of the race.

Carlin team-mates Cameron Das and Matheus Iorio finished fifth and sixth respectively. The two tried to work together to try to close to the podium places, but ran out of laps and were left to trade places in the closing stages.

Leonard Hoogenboom finished seventh in his second race in this series, after battling fellow RP driver Guilherme Samaia.


Race results (13 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Felipe Drugovich RP Motorsport 29m26.807s
2 Alex Karkosik Campos Racing +1.469s
3 Bent Viscaal Teo Martin Motorsport +7.049s
4 Marcos Siebert Campos Racing +7.878s
5 Cameron Das Carlin +11.810s
6 Matheus Iorio Carlin +12.648s
7 Leonard Hoogenboom MP Motorsport +16.020s
8 Guilherme Samaia RP Motorsport +16.201s
9 Christian Hahn Drivex School +19.438s
10 Lukas Dunner Drivex School +20.154s
11 Michael Benyahia RP Motorsport +23.368s
12 Jannes Fittje Drivex School +25.757s
13 Yves Baltas Campos Racing +30.726s
14 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +30.795s
15 Aldo Festante Fortec Motorsports +38.034s
Pole: Drugovich, 2m13:189s? ? ??Fastest Lap: Drugovich, 2m15.188s

Championship Standings
Drugovich 151? ?2 Iorio 83? ?3 Viscaal 74???4 Siebert 63? ?5 Das 57? ?6 Samaia 53? ?7 Karkosik 36? ?8 Fittje 22? ?9 Dunner 21? ?10 Festante 12