Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Ex-Red Bull man Albon achieves maiden pole at the Red Bull Ring

Ex-Red Bull man Albon achieves maiden pole at the Red Bull Ring

by Ant Musker
Alexander Albon

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Alexander Albon claimed his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pole position at the Red Bull Ring for KTR, leading the Group B session with the fastest time ahead of team-mate Ignazio D?Agosto.

The British-born Thai, who was dropped by the Red Bull Junior team at the end of last year, will be joined on the front row by William Vermont, the Frenchman who topped the timesheets in the morning practice session and finished fastest of Group A.

Josef Kaufmann?s Oscar Tunjo lines up fourth on the grid with championship contender Pierre Gasly and afternoon practice pace setter, Ed Jones occupying the third row.

Steijn Schothorst of Josef Kaufmann and Jack Aitken, driving now with Fortec, qualified seventh and eighth with Britain?s Jake Dennis alongside championship leader Oliver Rowland to round off the top ten grid places.

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
?1 Alex Albon KTR 1:30.920
?2 William Vermont Arta Engineering 1:31.251
?3 Ignazio D’Agosto KTR 1:30.990
?4 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:31.405
?5 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing 1:31.022
?6 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports 1:31.437
?7 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:31.067
?8 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:31.510
?9 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports 1:31.118
?10 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 1:31.549
?11 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:31.144
?12 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 1:31.574
?13 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:31.162
?14 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:31.685
?15 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:31.193
?16 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP 1:31.817
?17 Leo Roussel Arta Engineering 1:31.306
?18 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 1:31.863
?19 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing 1:31.412
?20 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam 1:31.867
?21 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP 1:31.724
?22 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula 1:32.162
?23 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula 1:31.945
?24 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team 1:32.174
?25 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.249
?26 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports 1:32.223
?27 Simon Tirman Arta Engineering 1:32.335
?28 Alex Baron ART Junior Team 1:32.243
?29 Kevin Joerg Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.361
?30 Javier Merlo Manor MP Motorsport 1:32.756
?31 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.377
?32 Yu Kanamaru KTR 1:33.384
?33 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing 1:34.177
?34 Alex Bosak Interwetten.com Racing 1:33.415