Home Formula 3Euroformula Euroformula points leader Ye leads final free practice session of 2020

Euroformula points leader Ye leads final free practice session of 2020

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Euroformula points leader Yifei Ye topped the final free practice session of the season at Barcelona, and was almost half a second faster than title rival Lukas Dunner.

The two CryptoTower Racing Team drivers lingered towards the bottom of the timesheet for most of the session, with Ye waiting a long time before even setting a representative lap, but the pair were the quickest when the grip levels improved at the end of the session.

Ye ended up 0.078 seconds clear of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas Estner in the second place, with the German having been in first place frequently and been the first driver of the weekend to break into the 1m35s.

The only other two drivers capable of that behind Ye and Estner were Double R Racing’s Louis Foster, who traded top spot with Estner through much of the Friday morning free practice session, and Motopark’s Cameron Das.

Carlin’s Zane Maloney got shuffled down to fifth after failing to improve on his final lap, while Dunner was one of the rare drivers who did and leapt up to sixth place at the very end of free practice.

Niklas Krutten (Motopark) was seventh quickest, ahead of Glenn van Berlo (Drivex), Alexandre Bardinon (VAR) and Sebastian Estner (VAR).

Drivex’s debutant Rafael Villagomex was just 0.811s off the pace in 12th, while Foster’s debuting team-mate Matthias Luethen was over two seconds back in 15th.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m35.672s 18
2 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.750s +0.078s 14
3 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m35.804s +0.132s 17
4 Cameron Das Motopark 1m35.961s +0.289s 17
5 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m36.136s +0.464s 20
6 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m36.170s +0.498s 17
7 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m36.187s +0.515s 19
8 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m36.235s +0.563s 16
9 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.319s +0.647s 18
10 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.338s +0.666s 15
11 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m36.359s +0.687s 17
12 Rafael Villagomez Drivex School 1m36.483s +0.811s 20
13 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m36.495s +0.823s  17
14 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m36.831s +1.159s 16
15 Matthias Luethen Double R Racing 1m38.053s +2.381s  21