Home Formula 3Euroformula Euroformula Open teams begin testing at Enna-Pergusa

Euroformula Open teams begin testing at Enna-Pergusa

by Ida Wood

Euroformula Open teams have started testing at Sicily’s Enna-Pergusa circuit ahead of its appearance on next season’s calendar as host venue of the Mediterranean Grand Prix.

The 4.95km lakeside circuit first held the grand prix as a non-championship Formula 1 race in the early 1960s, before becoming one of the marquee events in European Formula 2 and then International Formula 3000.

Carlin, which ran Billy Monger to Pau Grand Prix victory this year and also won a race with Honda junior Teppei Natori in the championship, ran tests at the circuit over a three day period in late October in both dry and wet conditions.

It is believed that Nicolai Kjaergaard, who finished seventh in the EF Open standings with Carlin, was joined by Italian Formula 4 frontrunner and part-time team-mate Ido Cohen and British F4 champion Zane Maloney on track at the Enna test.

All three drove the Dallara F317 that was retired at the end of this season, but will form the basis of the Dallara 320 being introduced next year for teams upgrading their existing cars rather than buying brand new chassis.

Carlin is expected to return to Enna early next year, along with some of its opposition, once it has taken delivery of the Dallara 320.

The provisional nine-round EF Open calendar for 2020 has also been revised, with the Mediterranean GP being moved from its original September date to October 10/11, and the Monza round being moved back one weekend from October 3/4 to September 26/27.

After its successful addition to the championship this year, the Pau GP remains on the calendar for 2020 and takes place on May 23/24.


Provisional 2020 Euroformula Open calendar
Round Circuit Date
WS 1 Barcelona, Spain March 6/7
WS 2 Paul Ricard, France March 20/21
1 Paul Ricard, France April 25/26
2 Pau, France May 23/24
3 Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium June 6/7
4 Hockenheim, Germany June 27/28
5 Hungaroring, Hungary July 11/12
6 Red Bull Ring, Austria September 12/13
7 Monza, Italy September 26/27
8 Enna-Pergusa, Italy October 10/11
9 Barcelona, Spain October 24/25