Home Formula 3Euroformula Euroformula expecting more new teams for 2020

Euroformula expecting more new teams for 2020

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fortec Motorsports

Euroformula has revealed it is expecting more new teams for its 2020 season, having already announced the arrival of Van Amersfoort Racing to the series.

In a statement put out by the series, it pointed to the size of the grid it was expecting for its first year using the new halo-shod Dallara 320 chassis.

Reigning champion team Motopark has signed Cameron Das, who’s also racing in FIA Formula 3 Championship and could miss a Euroformula round to focus on that, and Niklas Krutten. They’re expected to be accompanied by BRDC British F3 graduates Manuel Maldonado and Pavan Ravishankar.

Formula Renault Eurocup race-winner Yifei Ye is also linked to the team after a poor season in FIA F3 last year.

Fellow Spiess-powered team Carlin will run Israeli talent Ido Cohen and its British Formula 4 champion Zane Maloney, and is expected to retain Pau Grand Prix winner Billy Monger.

Top HWA-powered team Double R Racing has signed BRDC British F3 frontrunner Ayrton Simmons for its two-car effort. Last year it ran Linus Lundqvist, who is focused on Formula Regional Americas this year but hasn’t ruled out a secondary campaign.

The British presence on the grid includes Fortec Motorsports, which has signed sportscar star Kris Wright and is expected to add Aston Martin Autosport BRDC winner Johnathan Hoggard, the return of the Manor Competition name as a MP Motorsport offshoot, and experienced F3 and Formula Ford 1600 team Team Fox Racing. Former GP3 and Indy Lights backmarker Carmen Jorda is linked heavily to the Team Fox drive.

Series loyalists RP Motorsport and Teo Martin Motorsport are absent, although Spanish squad Drivex School is still on the grid with F4 graduate Glenn van Berlo and one other driver.

VAR has already completed its three-car line-up, with Alexandre Bardinon moving across from its Formula Regional European Championship squad and being joined by brothers Andreas and Sebastian Estner.