Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Eriksson keeps Prema duo at bay to win race one at Spielberg

Eriksson keeps Prema duo at bay to win race one at Spielberg

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC F4

Photo: ADAC F4

Motopark’s Joel Eriksson won the first race of ADAC F4’s second-ever round, taking place at Spielberg this weekend.

The Swede started from pole and spent most of the race in defensive mode, holding off Prema drivers Ralf Aron and Guan Yu Zhou.

Indeed, Ferrari protege Zhou, lining up alongside Eriksson, could very well have taken the lead into turn one. The Chinese driver took the inside line, but Eriksson stuck to the outside and got a better exit. Aron also took advantage, passing his Prema teammate for second.

Further back, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mick Schumacher clattered into the back of a Mucke car before ricocheting into a Race Performance machine and damaging his suspension. The German ended up in the turn two barriers, bringing out the safety car.

He was not the only casualty of the first lap – Marvin Dienst, who had led the points after Oschersleben, had to call it a day in the pits.

Eriksson enjoyed a solid enough restart, but soon had both Aron and Zhou on his rear wing, only to be given a breather by another safety car – Nikolaj Rogivue and Jan Jonck had collided, the latter ending up parked in the barriers.

And that was enough for Eriksson to defend the win, his next restart going swimmingly and allowing him to stretch his legs over the final few laps.

As Aron took second, Zhou had to fend off third from Michael Waldherr, but persevered, picking up his first podium in the German series a week after the Italian F4 hat-trick at Monza.

Neuhauser’s Tim Zimmermann emerged as the winner in a huge scrap for fifth place, with sixth going to Robert Shwartzman.

Shwartzman’s teammate David Beckmann had started eighth, but stalled on the grid, being miraculously avoided by several cars before his F4 machine finally got going.

Despite that, the Mucke driver brilliantly recovered to seventh, passing the likes of Mattia Drudi, Janneau Esmeijer and Joseph Mawson, who completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Joel Eriksson Motopark 18 laps in 30:52.720
2 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +1.035
3 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +2.953
4 Michael Waldherr Motopark +3.024
5 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +6.859
6 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +7.459
7 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +11.397
8 Mattia Drudi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +13.184
9 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +13.958
10 Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +14.672
11 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +15.587
12 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +15.991
13 Mike David Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +17.496
14 Thomas Preining Mucke Motorsport +19.073
15 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +19.774
16 Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +19.850
17 Job van Uitert Privateer +24.189
18 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +24.703
19 Lucas Mauron Race Performance +27.828
20 Robin Brezina Privateer +29.547
21 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +29.945
22 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +30.935
23 Cedric Piro Piro Sports +31.708
24 Glenn Rupp RS Competition +32.418
25 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +33.122
26 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +33.512
27 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +37.296
28 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +38.381
29 Alain Valente Race Performance +42.966
30 Michelle Halder Privateer +46.274
Not classified
Jannes Fittje Motopark +3 laps
Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +3 laps
Marcel Lenerz Lechner Racing +6 laps
Jan Jonck RS Competition +12 laps
Benjamin Mazatis ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +14 laps
Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +15 laps
Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +18 laps
DNQ Toni Wolf Piro Sports
DNQ Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team