Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Eriksson holds off Zamparelli to win first Monza race

Eriksson holds off Zamparelli to win first Monza race

by Peter Allen
Jimmy Eriksson

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Jimmy Eriksson scored his second win of the GP3 season in race one at Monza, just staying out of reach of a late attack from Dino Zamparelli.

Starting from pole position, Eriksson retained the lead at the start and opened up an advantage of over a second over fellow front row starter Zamparelli.

Zamparelli cut the lead from 1.2 seconds to 0.8s on the penultimate lap and took another two tenths out of the Swede’s advantage on the last lap, but had to settle for his fourth second place from six races, still awaiting his maiden victory.

A strong start took Robert Visoiu from seventh to third at the start, and he was followed by Marvin Kirchhofer, with the German getting a push from behind from Dean Stoneman under braking for the first chicane that helped him to make up more places.

Kirchhofer had a few goes at getting past Visoiu in the early stages, and on one attempt he had nosed ahead on the run down to the second chicane, where there were yellow flags. Visoiu moved back ahead again on the inside line, but stewards decided that that was overtaking under yellow flags and slapped him with a drive-through penalty.

That allowed Kirchhofer to take the final podium position on his first points finish since his Hockenheim victory. Emil Bernstorff started and finished in fourth ahead of Stoneman, who survived late pressure from championship leader Alex Lynn.

Lynn lost ground on the first lap when he went across the inside of the first chicane, relegating him to eighth. He gained a place with Visoiu’s penalty, and then promptly overtook Patrick Kujala for sixth.

Behind Kujala, Matheo Tuscher finished eighth and will start race two from reverse grid pole. Ninth was Richie Stanaway, who also came a cropper on the first lap when he ran through the gravel exiting the second chicane. That put him down to 13th, but he would come back to ninth with a move on Status team-mate Nick Yelloly on the last lap. Yelloly had started third, but got a poor start and followed Lynn across the first chicane at the start.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 17 laps in 28:35.462
2 Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix +0.674
3 Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix +6.329
4 Emil Bernstorff Carlin +7.380
5 Dean Stoneman Marussia Manor Racing +8.287
6 Alex Lynn Carlin +9.107
7 Patrick Kujala Marussia Manor Racing +10.776
8 Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport +11.805
9 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix +12.647
10 Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix +13.438
11 Jann Mardenborough Arden International +13.556
12 Kevin Ceccon Jenzer Motorsport +16.625
13 Patric Niederhauser Arden International +17.404
14 Luis Sa Silva Carlin +18.024
15 Riccardo Agostini Hilmer Motorsport +18.180
16 Alfonso Celis Status Grand Prix +21.308
17 John Bryant-Meisner Trident +31.499
18 Mitch Gilbert Trident +37.864
19 Robert Visoiu Arden International +40.537
20 Carmen Jorda Koiranen GP +1:15.351
21 Luca Ghiotto Trident +1 lap
Not classified
Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix +5 laps
Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing +10 laps
Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP +14 laps
Sebastian Balthasar Hilmer Motorsport +15 laps
Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport +17 laps
Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport +17 laps