Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Eriksson holds off Lynn to win first Silverstone GP3 race

Eriksson holds off Lynn to win first Silverstone GP3 race

by Peter Allen
Jimmy Eriksson

Photo: Jakob Ebrey/GP3 Series Media Service

Jimmy Eriksson held on under a late attack from Alex Lynn to score his first win in the GP3 Series in race one at Silverstone.

Neither Eriksson or Lynn got particularly good starts from the front row. Fourth-placed Jann Mardenborough did, but Lynn forced his fellow Briton almost into the wall, allowing Eriksson to keep the lead.

The Swede quickly built up a healthy lead, holding a 2.4 second advantage after just three laps. Lynn later began to cut that back, although Eriksson did respond by setting the fastest lap. That was bettered by Lynn though as the Briton reduced the difference down as far as 0.3 seconds with two laps left, searching for his third straight race one victory.

He was unable to find a way past though, with Eriksson avoiding any errors and Lynn struggling in his dirty air in the high-speed corners. Eriksson managed to get the gap back up to 0.9 seconds as he took the chequered flag, completing the strong start to his season after failing to score any points in 2013.

Lynn claiming the fastest lap was crucial in him maintaining the championship lead, with the two bonus points on offer giving him a four-point margin.

Marvin Kirchhofer secured his maiden podium in GP3 in third place, seven seconds behind the winner.

Emil Bernstorff took fourth, holding off fellow Briton Nick Yelloly as well as Riccardo Agostini, who finished sixth in just his third GP3 start. Richie Stanaway was seventh, while Dino Zamparelli took eighth and reverse-grid pole after a grid penalty for a qualifying incident in which he ‘overtook in a dangerous manner whilst the marshals were working on track’ that dropped him from fourth to ninth.

After his super getaway, Mardenborough was swamped on the opening lap and dropped to ninth, where he fended off pressure from Dean Stoneman.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 15 laps in 27:32.301
2 Alex Lynn Carlin +0.958
3 Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix +7.150
4 Emil Bernstorff Carlin +9.882
5 Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix +10.937
6 Riccardo Agostini Hilmer Motorsport +12.774
7 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix +14.413
8 Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix +16.895
9 Jann Mardenborough Arden International +18.661
10 Dean Stoneman Marussia Manor Racing +20.132
11 Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport +24.887
12 Patrick Kujala Marussia Manor Racing +25.530
13 Patric Niederhauser Arden International +28.616
14 Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport +29.400
15 Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix +29.701
16 Alfonso Celis Status Grand Prix +33.436
17 Roman de Beer Trident +35.407
18 Luis Sa Silva Carlin +39.583
19 Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing +46.549
20 Robert Visoiu Arden International +47.035
21 Adderly Fong Jenzer Motorsport +47.550
22 Sebastian Balthasar Hilmer Motorsport +48.303
23 Victor Carbone Trident +1:10.180
24 Carmen Jorda Koiranen GP +1:35.243
25 Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP +15 laps