Home Formula 2 Eriksson and Jeffri confirmed in Arden GP2 seats

Eriksson and Jeffri confirmed in Arden GP2 seats

by Peter Allen

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Jimmy Eriksson and Nabil Jeffri have been announced by GP2 team Arden for the 2016 season following their pre-season tests with the outfit.

Both drivers will be GP2 rookies, with Eriksson stepping up after three years and three wins in GP3 while Jeffri moves up from European Formula 3.

Both tested with Arden at Barcelona and Jerez recently and will race for the team from the opening round at Barcelona in a fortnight.

“I think my experience of GP3 will stand me in good stead for this move, particularly in terms of track knowledge,” said Eriksson.

“The main difference will be the length of the races. I will need to learn how to take care of the tyres for a longer period of time, in a more powerful car. Having said that, our race simulations looked highly promising in testing, so I feel quite comfortable with that already.”

Jeffri added: “We have had some positive pre-season testing sessions and I have enjoyed working with a team who are very professional and encouraging. I look forward to a great rookie season.

“This has been my lifelong dream and I very much look forward to living it out in front of my fellow Malaysians when we race at my home circuit later this year. The Sepang Circuit is one many drivers find challenging, so I hope my experience on this track will help my performance, and I will do Malaysia proud.”

With Arden finalising it’s line-up, one seat remains at Carlin alongside?Marvin Kirchhofer, while Status Grand Prix is yet to name any drivers amidst talk that they will could miss the season.

GP2 2016 line-up so far
Team Drivers
ART Grand Prix 1 Nobuharu Matsushita 2 Sergey Sirotkin
Racing Engineering 3 Norman Nato 4 Jordan King
DAMS 5 Alex Lynn 6 Nicholas Latifi
Campos Racing 7 Mitch Evans 8 Sean Gelael
Russian Time 9 Raffaele Marciello 10 Artem Markelov
Rapax 11 Gustav Malja 12 Arthur Pic
Trident 14 Philo Paz Armand 15 Luca Ghiotto
Status Grand Prix 16 17
Carlin 18 Marvin Kirchhofer 19
Prema Racing 20 Antonio Giovinazzi 21 Pierre Gasly
MP Motorsport 22 Oliver Rowland 23 Daniel de Jong
Arden International 24 Nabil Jeffri 25 Jimmy Eriksson