Home Featured Enzo Fittipaldi on top again in Misano race two

Enzo Fittipaldi on top again in Misano race two

by Bethonie Waring

Enzo Fittipaldi claimed a lights-to-flag victory with a dominant performance in the second Italian Formula 4 race at Misano.

The Prema driver made an impressive start, immediately pulling away from the rest of the field, but any gap made on the opening lap was eliminated when the safety car was brought out at the start of lap two.

Fittipaldi?s team-mate Olli Caldwell ran into trouble when he made a move up the inside of Giorgio Carrara. Caldwell hit the Jenzer Motorsport driver, sending Carrara into a spin. Carrara stopped in the middle of the track and was hit by Amaury Cordeel before he could get going again. Both were taken out of the race.

Caldwell didn?t appear to suffer any damage, but was later handed a 10 second time penalty for the incident, dropping him to 10th?in the overall classification.

At the front of the field, Fittipaldi managed the restart to continue where he left off while Leonardo Lorandi, Petr Ptacek, and the returning Gianluca Petecof battled for second.

Ptacek led the trio with Lorandi doing his best to keep Petecof behind him. The pair made slight contact, damaging Petecof?s front wing. The Prema driver was forced to pit, returning to track a lap down.

Ptacek managed to pull away from Lorandi and, in the closing stages of the race, began to close the gap to Fittipaldi. He came within two seconds of the race one winner, but ran out of laps before he could challenge for victory.

Behind, Ian Rodriguez found a way past Lorandi to take the final podium position. Lorandi still leads the championship, now just six points ahead of Fittipaldi.

Frederico Malvesti spent most of the race leading a small train for fifth place. Ilya Morozov, Gregorie Saucy, and Oliver Rasmussen all ran nose-to-tail behind Malvestiti, occasionally pulling alongside one another as they searched for a way past.

Malvestiti held onto the position, with Morozov taking sixth, his best result yet and his second consecutive points finish since joining Cram Motorsport.

Saucy, Rasmussen, and Niklas Krutten completed the top nine.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema 29m56.029s
2 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +1.980s
3 Ian Rodriguez DRZ Benelli +8.593s
4 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech +9.941s
5 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +13.012s
6 Ilya Morozov Cram Motorsport +14.194s
7 Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +15.047s
8 Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport +16.376s
9 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +16.779s
10 Olli Caldwell Prema +20.306s
11 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +21.880s
12 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +22.613s
13 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +23.242s
14 Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing +26.249s
15 Edoardo Morricone DR Formula +29.487s
16 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +30.282s
17 Andrea Dell’Accio Cram Motorsport +31.087s
18 Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport +33.389s
19 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +36.962s
20 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +37.427s
21 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +1m09.045s
22 Anthony Famularo Bhaitech +1m22.622s
23 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +1 lap
24 Gianluca Petecof Prema +1 lap
25 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +3 laps
Ret Alessio Deledda Technorace
Ret Amaury Cordeel Mucke Motorsport
Ret Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport
Pole: Fittipaldi,1m34.735s? ? ??Fastest Lap: Ptacek, 1m35.490s

Championship Standings
?Lorandi 159? ?2 Fittipaldi 153? ?3 Caldwell 129? ?4?Malvestiti 81? ?5 Ptacek 79? ?6 Rodriguez 75? ?7?Frederik Vesti 68? ?8?Petecof 66? ?9?Alatalo 57? ?10?Toby Sowery 54