Home Featured Enzo Fittipaldi converts pole to victory in first Misano Italian F4 race

Enzo Fittipaldi converts pole to victory in first Misano Italian F4 race

by Peter Allen

Italian F4

Enzo Fittipaldi took his third win of the Italian Formula 4 season in the opening race at Misano, and has moved back into second in the standings.

The Ferrari protege took all three poles in qualifying, and followed that up with a decisive victory to move level on points with Prema team-mate Olli Caldwell.

Fittipaldi was kept honest in the early laps by impressive rookie and fellow front-row starter Petr Ptacek, but gradually pulled away to win by 5.781 seconds.

Ian Rodriguez leapt from fifth to third off the line behind Ptacek, who claimed his maiden podium finish. Rodrguez held off Gianluca Petecof by three tenths of a second at the flag to complete the podium.

Federico Malvestiti took fifth in front of Caldwell and Giorgio Carrara, while championship leader Leonardo Lorandi was a low-key eighth in the sister Bhaitech car to that of Ptacek.

Gregoire Saucy was ninth while Ilya Morozov scored his first point in 10th in his first race after joining Cram Motorsport, benefitting when Nicklas Krutten spun out ahead of him at the final corner at mid-distance.

Morozov’s former team KDC Racing – co-founded by Monisha Kaltenborn – is again absent this weekend after also missing the Monza event two weeks ago.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema 30m24.850s
2 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +5.781s
3 Ian Rodriguez DRZ Benelli +7.535s
4 Gianluca Petecof Prema +7.892s
5 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +13.013s
6 Olli Caldwell Prema +13.982s
7 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +14.752s
8 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech +17.651s
9 Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +19.037s
10 Ilya Morozov Cram Motorsport +22.503s
11 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +25.303s
12 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +30.143s
13 Anthony Famularo Bhaitech +33.604s
14 Edoardo Morricone DR Formula +35.156s
15 Amaury Cordeel Mucke Motorsport +37.714s
16 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +39.346s
17 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +42.006s
18 Andrea Dell’Accio Cram Motorsport +43.115s
19 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +43.847s
20 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +47.612s
21 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +55.567s
22 Alessio Deledda Technorace +1m03.106s
23 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +1m39.171s
24 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +3 laps
25 Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing +5 laps
Ret Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport
Ret Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport
Pole: Fittipaldi,1m35.073s? ? ??Fastest Lap: Fittipaldi, 1m35.450s

Championship Standings
?Lorandi 147? ?2 Fittipaldi 128? ?3 Caldwell 128? ?4?Malvestiti 71? ?5?Frederik Vesti 68? ?6?Petecof 66? ?7?Ptacek 61? ?8 Rodriguez 60? ?9?Alatalo 57? ?10?Toby Sowery 54