Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Penalty hands Enzo Fittipaldi first Formula Regional Europe win

Penalty hands Enzo Fittipaldi first Formula Regional Europe win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Enzo Fittipaldi claimed his maiden Formula Regional European Championship win at Imola after team-mate Frederik Vesti was penalised.

Vesti led the race from start-to-finish on track, but a five-second penalty from a safety car restart infringement dropped him to third.

Olli Caldwell, who had been running second in the third Prema circuit after a strong start, went off-track at the final corner of lap three, going through the gravel and into the wall. Meanwhile, Alexandre Bardinon also ran wide into the gravel.

Both drivers were able to return to the circuit under their own power, though not before the safety car was called out, bunching up the field and putting Fittipaldi back on Vesti?s tail.

Vesti made a strong get away on the restart, leaving Fittipaldi to battle with Raul Guzman. But it was all for nought as, five minutes before the chequered flag, Vesti was handed the penalty. He continued to pull away from Fittipaldi, but it wasn?t enough to keep him ahead of his team-mate.

Igor Fraga also ended the race within five seconds of Vesti, dropping the championship leader to third on the corrected times.

Sophia Florsch took fourth, matching her best finish of the season so far, ahead of Marcos Siebert.

Isac Blomqvist spent most of the race leading a four-car train for sixth. The KIC Motorsport driver had David Schumacher and Matteo Nannini on his tail. Guzman, who span while battling with Fittipaldi, joined the back of the fight.

After finding a way past Schumcher, Nannini made a move up the inside of Blomqvist, but the two made contact on the final lap. Blomqvist span into the gravel while Nannini dropped down the order. Schumacher came through to take sixth, ahead of Guzman and Konsta Lappalainen.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema 32m04.398s
2 Igor Fraga DR Formula by RP Motorsport +0.773s
3 Frederik Vesti Prema +1.589s
4 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +5.526s
5 Marcos Siebert US Racing +9.678s
6 David Schumacher US Racing +15.974s
7 Raul Guzman DR Formula by RP Motorsport +17.061s
8 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport +19.919s
9 Matteo Nannini Scuderia DF Corse by Corbetta +45.237s
10 Tom Beckhauser Technorace +1m10.171s
11 Sharon Scolari ScoRace Team +1m11.563s
12 Isac Blomqvist KIC Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Olli Caldwell Prema
Ret Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing
Pole: Vesti, 1m39.456s? ? ? Fastest lap: Vesti, 1m40.008s

Championship standings
1?Vesti 298? ?2 Fittipaldi 231? ?3?Fraga 171? ?4?Schumacher 145? ?5?Caldwell 139? ?6?Guzman 106? ?7?Floersch 102? ?8 Siebert 60? ?9 Blomqvist 44? ?10 Lappalainen 39