Home News Ellinas and Visoiu join FR3.5 field for Jerez pre-season test

Ellinas and Visoiu join FR3.5 field for Jerez pre-season test

by Peter Allen
Tio Ellinas

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP3 Series Media Service

GP3 race winners Tio Ellinas and Robert Visoiu will take part in the second Formula Renault 3.5 pre-season test at Jerez.

As at the opening test at Motorland Aragon at the end of February, six teams (DAMS, Fortec, Draco, Arden, Strakka and Lotus) are fielding a pair of confirmed race drivers for the 2014 season at the test from Monday to Wednesday.

Ellinas will spend the first two days with Tech 1 Racing alongside Marco Sorensen, and then switch to Pons for the third day. No driver has been named for the Tech 1 car for Wednesday.

Nigel Melker had ran with his 2013 team Tech 1 during the Motorland test, but is returning this week to ISR – for whom he drove in an unofficial test at Paul Ricard last month – alongside the Czech squad’s confirmed racer Jazeman Jaafar.

Meindert van Buuren will continue to test with Pons, with Visoiu driving the second car on the first two days before handing over to Ellinas. Romanian driver Visoiu is confirmed to compete again in GP3 this year with Arden, and will travel from Jerez to Estoril for the start of GP3 pre-season testing on Thursday.

Beitske Visser will continue with AVF alongside Zoel Amberg, the Dutch racer having set the pace in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 testing at Barcelona last week.

Zeta Corse will again test Roman Mavlanov and former DTM racer Roberto Merhi, while Comtec will run only one car for 2014 signing Nikolay Martsenko. South African Liam Venter had driven their second car at Motorland Aragon.

As was the case at the first test, Carlin will be absent.

Line-up for Jerez pre-season test
Team Drivers
DAMS Carlos Sainz, Jr. Norman Nato
Fortec Motorsports Oliver Rowland Sergey Sirotkin
Draco Pietro Fantin Luca Ghiotto
Arden Motorsport Pierre Gasly Will Buller
Tech 1 Racing Marco Sorensen Tio Ellinas (Mon/Tue)
Strakka Racing Will Stevens Matias Laine
Lotus Matthieu Vaxiviere Marlon Stockinger
ISR Jazeman Jaafar Nigel Melker
AVF Zoel Amberg Beitske Visser
Zeta Corse Roman Mavlanov Roberto Merhi
Pons Racing Meindert van Buuren Robert Visoiu (Mon/Tue), Tio Ellinas (Wed)
Comtec Racing Nikolay Martsenko None