Home Formula 4Italian F4 Edgar on top at Imola, Jenzer and VAR change Italian F4 line-ups

Edgar on top at Imola, Jenzer and VAR change Italian F4 line-ups

by Ida Wood

Photo: ADAC/Gruppe C Photography

Jonny Edgar set the pace in free practice for the second Italian Formula 4 round at Imola in a Van Amersfoort Racing top three lockout.

Red Bull juniors Edgar and Jak Crawford were fastest in the first of two sessions, with their team-mate Francesco Pizzi taking over at the top in the afternoon session and putting himself between them in the combined standings.

There were only a few drivers who were quicker in session one than in session two, and the improvements in the hotter afternoon conditions brought the Prema drivers further to the front.

VAR’s line-up was larger than usual, with Nico Rosberg’s Chinese protege Cenyu Han joining from AKM Motorsport and Bence Valint moving across from the absent Mucke Motorsport. They ended up at the bottom of the timesheet.

Francesco Simonazzi was another driver to have changed teams between rounds, driving for Jenzer Motorsport instead of DRZ Benelli. The Italian debuted with the Swiss team in last week’s Spanish F4 round at Paul Ricard, where a permanent move to the squad in the Italian series was under consideration. A deal was formalised for him to race at Imola in the days before free practice.

Gabriele Mini ended up fourth fastest for Prema in free practice after a strong afternoon, which demoted Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso to fifth.

Filip Ugran (Jenzer) failed to improve in session two, which dropped him to eighth place behind Mini’s team-mate Dino Beganovic and BVM Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.643s 33
2 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.816s +0.173s 31
3 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.829s +0.186s 31
4 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m45.047s +0.404s 32
5 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorport 1m45.241s +0.598s 33
6 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m45.299s +0.656s 32
7 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing 1m45.530s +0.887s 32
8 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorport 1m45.604s +0.961s 34
9 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m45.617s +0.974s 30
10 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m45.694s +1.051s 33
11 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m45.859s +1.216s 32
12 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m45.967s +1.324s 34
13 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m46.124s +1.481s 32
14 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m46.127s +1.484s 35
15 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m46.180s +1.537s 32
16 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.381s +1.738s 17
17 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.487s +1.844s 33
18 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m46.686s +2.043s 34
19 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m46.697s +2.054s 33
20 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m46.865s +2.222s 33
21 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m47.211s +2.568s 33
22 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.306s +2.663s 27
23 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.388s +2.745s 30
24 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.756s +3.113s 34