Home Formula 4Italian F4 Edgar ends Italian F4 testing on top as more drivers join grid

Edgar ends Italian F4 testing on top as more drivers join grid

by Peter Allen

Photo: ADAC/Gruppe C Photography

Red Bull junior Jonny Edgar concluded Italian Formula 4 pre-season testing as the fastest driver after two days of running at Monza.

The number of drivers set to race in the series this year is now above 30, although Edgar is one of several who will miss the opening round at Misano next weekend because of the clashing ADAC F4 event at the Lausitzring.

In total there were 29 drivers present at Monza over the two days, and it was Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen who topped the first day of running.

The pace improved on the second day, with Edgar setting the best time of 1m53.852s in the second of four sessions on Thursday.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver’s time was marginally faster than he had gone in the previous session, when many of the next fastest drivers set their best laps.

Iron Lynx driver Leonardo Fornaroli prevented a lock-out for the VAR trio, taking second ahead of Francesco Pizzi and Jak Crawford.

Duerksen – who like Edgar and Crawford is set to miss Misano – also found an improvement in that same Thursday morning session to end up fifth overall.

Jenzer Motorsport driver Filip Ugran was second to Edgar in the subsequent session to place sixth in front of Prema trio Gabriele Mini, Gabriel Bortoleto and Dino Beganovic.

The fourth of Prema’s all-rookie quartet, Sebastian Montoya, finished up 13th, with the last place in the top 10 instead going to Bhaitech’s Sebastian Ogaard – just ahead of Cram’s Andrea Rosso.

Taking 12th place was Francesco Braschi testing for AS Motorsport – which is confirmed to be returning this season with Sebastian Freymuth, whose best finish in 2019 was 16th place. Freymuth was the only driver not to improve his time on the second day of the test, having been sixth fastest in Wednesday morning’s first session.

Another driver whose plans have been confirmed is the Greek Georgios Markogiannis, who will contest selected rounds with Cram alongside Rosso, starting at the Red Bull Ring in September. Poland’s Mateusz Kaprzyk is also poised to race for Cram.

Mucke meanwhile has added Hungarian driver Bence Valint to its line-up.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Day 1 Day 2 Gap Laps
1 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.617s 1m53.852s 145
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m55.065s 1m53.943s +0.091s 152
3 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.829s 1m54.000s +0.148s 161
4 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.687s 1m54.023s +0.171s 160
5 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m54.216s 1m54.109s +0.257s 157
6 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.799s 1m54.123s +0.271s 130
7 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m54.253s 1m54.125s +0.273s 152
8 Gabriele Bortoleto Prema 1m55.075s 1m54.168s +0.316s 147
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m54.817s 1m54.238s +0.386s 146
10 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m55.762s 1m54.296s +0.444s 157
11 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m54.783s 1m54.501s +0.649s 170
12 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m55.249s 1m54.574s +0.722s 160
13 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m55.108s 1m54.577s +0.725s 165
14 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m55.309s 1m54.606s +0.754s 159
15 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m54.931s 1m54.721s +0.869s 144
16 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport 1m55.274s 1m54.734s +0.882s 154
17 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m56.102s 1m54.747s +0.895s 167
18 Hamda Al Qubaisi Iron Lynx 1m55.435s 1m54.833s +0.981s 144
19 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli 1m54.835s +0.983s 75
20 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m55.759s 1m54.869s +1.017s 157
21 Kacper Sztuka DR Formula 1m55.660s 1m54.965s +1.113s 155
22 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m55.062s 1m55.350s +1.210s 85
23 Bence Valint Mucke Motorsport 1m55.833s 1m55.113s +1.261s 144
24 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m55.979s 1m55.341s +1.489s 134
25 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m55.346s +1.494s 80
26 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m56.163s 1m55.452s +1.600s 154
27 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m56.037s 1m55.804s +1.952s 117
28 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m56.689s 1m56.053s +2.201s 165
29 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport 1m56.543s 1m56.517s +2.665s 116