Home Formula 3Euroformula Ed Jones takes win in first F3 Open Nurburgring race

Ed Jones takes win in first F3 Open Nurburgring race

by Peter Allen

Photo: F3 Open/Fotospeedy

Ed Jones scored his second successive win in the F3 Open in the first race of the Nurburgring weekend.

The West-Tec driver claimed pole position in a qualifying session delayed by thick fog on Saturday morning. He was beaten off the line by fellow front-row starter Sandy Stuvik, but the championship leader ran wide at the first corner. That allowed both Jones and fourth-place starter Hector Hurst through, with Jones taking the race lead.

UAE driver Jones quickly opened up a lead of five seconds within a few laps, only easing off slightly before taking the chequered flag after 16 laps.

Jones benefited in the early stages from a frantic battle for second place. Stuvik claimed the place back from Hurst at the start of the second lap but could not pull away, the gap remaining at under a second for the majority of the race. After momentarily falling to fifth behind?Santiago Urrutia at the start, Nelson Mason spent the rest of the race up behind Hurst, but was unable to pull off a move.

Urrutia fell into the clutches of Alexander Toril, his RP Motorsport team-mate producing a fine manoeuvre around the outside of the chicane on lap nine. Mario Marasca held seventh throughout the race, although he was chased down by BVM team-mate Vicky Piria in the closing laps, but the female racer was passed by Alexandre Cougnaud on the final lap.

Andres Saravia took tenth, just ahead of the Copa class winner Tommaso Menchini. Richard Gonda had led the category from pole until he ran wide at the final corner as he was passed by Saravia, allowing Menchini and Roberto La Rocca through.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Ed Jones Team West-Tec 16 laps in 30:58.228
2 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +4.002
3 Hector Hurst Emilio de Villota Motorsport +4.624
4 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec +5.898
5 Alexander Toril RP Motorsport +12.626
6 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +13.414
7 Mario Marasca BVM Racing +16.663
8 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +19.022
9 Vicky Piria BVM Racing +19.341
10 Andres Saravia Emilio de Villota Motorsport +27.419
11 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +27.816
12 Roberto La Rocca Team West-Tec +29.006
13 Richard Gonda Drivex School +33.570
14 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +33.890
15 Nicolas Pohler DAV Racing +34.858
16 Igor Urien Emilio de Villota Motorsport +40.872
17 Liam Venter Team West-Tec +41.257
18 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +43.078
19 Mattia Vita Top F3 +50.710
20 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +51.150
21 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +53.223
22 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Competizioni +53.897
23 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +54.597
24 Saud Al-Faisal RP Motorsport +1:45.644
25 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +1:50.844
Not classified
  Valeria Carballo Campos Racing 10 laps
  Alexey Chuklin Emilio de Villota Motorsport 3 laps
  Yarin Stern Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1 lap
  Denis Nagulin Campos Racing 1 lap
Che One Lim Emilio de Villota Motorsport 0 laps