Home Formula 3Euroformula Lukas Dunner beats Marino Sato to second Euroformula Open pole

Lukas Dunner beats Marino Sato to second Euroformula Open pole

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Lukas Dunner took his second Euroformula Open pole position in qualifying for the first race of the weekend at the Hungaroring.

The Austrian duelled with Marino Sato for the top spot, and on his final lap kicked up some dust exiting Turn 7. Championship leader?Sato was not far behind, and after driving through the dust he set a lap time that was not good enough to beat Dunner.

Sato?s Motopark team-mates Liam Lawson and Yuki Tsunoda both made late efforts that launched them into third and fourth place, less than half a second behind poleman Dunner.

Teppei Natori made it three Japanese drivers in the top five by qualifying fifth fastest, just ahead of Double R Racing?s Linus Lundqvist and Carlin team-mate Christian Hahn.?

A strategic call by Double R to hold Jack Doohan in the pits until the final third of qualifying seemed to pay dividends, as he performed under pressure with a lap strong enough for eighth.

The sole Fortec Motorsports car driven by Calan Williams was ninth, beating old team-mate and new Motopark signing Cameron Das.

Javier Gonzalez was the fastest RP Motorsport driver in 11th, with his team-mate in 18th and last. Included between them were three of the Carlin drivers, with Formula 2 racer Nobuharu Matsushita having to start from 16th on his Euroformula debut after his best lap time was deleted for track limits violations.

After impressing with two top 10 performances in free practice, Drivex School?s Rui Andrade could only manage the 17th best time in the hotter conditions of qualifying.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport 1m35.058s
2 Marino Sato Motopark +0.266s
3 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.451s
4 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.472s
5 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.757s
6 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +0.778s
7 Christian Hahn Carlin +0.846s
8 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +0.916s
9 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +1.043s
10 Cameron Das Motopark +1.133s
11 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +1.192s
12 Julian Hanses Motopark +1.208s
13 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +1.220s
14 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +1.296s
15 Billy Monger Carlin +1.357s
16 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin +1.551s
17 Rui Andrade Drivex School +1.806s
18 Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport +2.508s