Home Formula 4British F4 Dunne back on top in British F4 in reversed-grid Croft race

Dunne back on top in British F4 in reversed-grid Croft race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

British Formula 4 points leader Alex Dunne won a chaotic reversed grid race at Croft.

Georgi Dimitrov stalled from first place on the grid, and after that Dunne led all the way, but it was a race of attrition for those behind.

Multiple drivers were caught out in an opening lap incident. The highest placed was Louis Sharp, who was spun around at the hairpin. Joel Pearson and Michael Shin also plummetted down the order, with Shin suffering suspension damage. Adam Fitzgerald came into the pits with damage to his front wing.

Daniel Guinchard appeared to be involved in the drama, though was able to continue with a damaged front wing, only to be handed the black-and-orange flag and be forced into the pits.

Once the opening lap had settled, Dunne had a considerable lead to the rest of the field. Dunne, who had taken an engine change ahead of the race, was more than two seconds ahead of Oliver Stewart and he didn’t have to worry about him as he spent the race trying to hold off Joseph Loake and was still running in second in the closing stages.

In the final laps, Loake managed to get alongside the Hitech driver at the hairpin, only for Stewart to suffer an apparent mechanical problem and lose power. As Stewart crawled to a stop, Loake came through to pick up second ahead of Ollie Gray.

Aiden Neate triumphed in the battle for fourth, a position Eduardo Coseteng had held for much of the race ahead of Ugo Ugochukwu and Neate. Ugochukwu switched back and forth between defending and attacking, but a late challenge against Coseteng caused the two to collide. Both drvers dropped down the order, allowing Neate to take fourth and Noah Lisle to come through and pick up fifth.

Sharp climbed back through the order to finish sixth ahead of a recovering Coseteng and Edward Pearson. Guinchard and Joel Pearson completed the top 10.

Race result (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 20m54.441s
2 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +4.257s
3 Ollie Gray Carlin +5.277s
4 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +7.374s
5 Noah Lisle JHR Developments +13.260s
6 Louis Sharp Carlin +14.590s
7 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP +25.346s
8 Edward Pearson Virtuosi +28.136s
9 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport +41.307s
10 Joel Pearson Chris Dittmann Racing +49.657s
11 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport +1m02.791s
12 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP +1 lap
Ret Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin
Ret Oliver Stewart Hitech GP
Ret Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments
Ret Michael Shin Virtuosi
Fastest lap: Dunne, 1m17.465s

Championship standings
1 Dunne 224   2 Gray 159   3 Ugochukwu 151   4 Neate 131   5 Sharp 106   6 Guinchard 92   7 Loake 85   8 Dimitrov 83   9 Coseteng 66   10 Shin 50