Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Duerksen dominates for first ADAC F4 win at Nurburgring

Duerksen dominates for first ADAC F4 win at Nurburgring

by Peter Allen

Photo: ADAC/Gruppe C Photography

Joshua Duerksen scored a dominant maiden win in ADAC Formula 4 in the third and final race of round two at the Nurburgring.

The Mucke Motorsport-run Paraguayan made a great start from third on the reversed-grid to lead the field into Turn 1 as polesitter Sebastian Montoya dropped backwards.

Duerksen was quickly able to make a gap as Ollie Bearman tried to defend second place, pushing hard and getting very sideways through the chicane on one lap. He was over 10 seconds clear at one stage and took the win by eight seconds at the finish of the 30-minute race.

Red Bull junior Jak Crawford came from fifth on the grid to third at the start, and tried to take second from Bearman around the outside of Turn 1 on lap four, only for Bearman to cling on and maintain the place on the inside of Turn 4.

That put Crawford under pressure on the next lap from his Van Amersfoort Racing team-mate and fellow Red Bull junior Jonny Edgar, who had started eighth following his race two win.

The pair went side-by-side through the Turn 5 cut-through on the Nurburgring’s Sprint layout and made slight contact on the exit that somehow peeled the sticker from Edgar’s front wing endplate.

Crawford went back on the attack and passed Bearman at the chicane on the following lap, with Edgar quickly following him through. Edgar then completed a move on Crawford for second at Turn 4.

Despite his rapid charge through the order, Edgar was then unable to pull away and had to start defending once more from Crawford.

Crawford got back past Edgar through Turns 1 and 2 before race one winner Gabriele Mini also got past down the inside of Turn 5. Missing the podium for only the second time in six races, Edgar ultimately faded to fifth after being passed by Elias Seppanen late on.

Tim Tramnitz couldn’t find a way past Edgar and finished sixth, while Victor Bernier held off Dino Beganovic and Francesco Pizzi for seventh. Bearman dropped back to 10th.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 21 laps
2 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +8.025s
3 Gabriele Mini Prema +8.797s
4 Elias Seppanen US Racing +14.234s
5 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +16.280s
6 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +16.674s
7 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +18.716s
8 Dino Beganovic Prema +19.112s
9 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +19.386s
10 Ollie Bearman US Racing +27.546s
11 Vladislav Lomko US Racing +27.997s
12 Sebastian Montoya Prema +34.785s
13 Artem Lobanenko R-ace GP +36.973s
14 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +49.400s
DNS Kirill Smal R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m28.951s

Championship standings
1 Edgar 109   2 Seppanen 89   3 Crawford 62   4 Tramnitz 59   5 Bernier 56   6 Mini 55   7 Duerksen 55   8 Smal 25   9 Lomko 24   10 Bearman 22