Home Featured Drugovich picks up second consecutive F2 pole at Zandvoort

Drugovich picks up second consecutive F2 pole at Zandvoort

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Felipe Drugovich claimed a second consecutive pole position in a disrupted Formula 2 qualifying session at Zandvoort.

Two red flags interrupted running at the Dutch circuit, including one after a crash for title contender Theo Pourchaire, who will start the feature race from 16th as a result.

It was Jack Doohan who topped the order after the opening laps, 0.155 seconds ahead of Drugovich with Pourchaire in fourth.

Before anyone could challenge Doohan’s time, the red flags were brought out after Pourchaire lost control and found the wall at turn three. The red flags were brought out with just over 20 minutes on the clock.

Lap times tumbled as the field hit the track again. Doohan improved on his time, but was knocked off the top spot as Amaury Cordeel, Ayumu Iwasa and Logan Sargeant all briefly claimed provisional pole.

Drugovich went fastest late on with a time of 1m20.713s. It was half a second quicker than the rest of the field.

Doohan was the only other driver to lap quicker than 1m21s, but his time of 1m20.939s was only enough for second.

Logan Sargeant improved late on to go third quickest ahead of Richard Verschoor and Iwasa. Liam Lawson was sixth ahead of Dennis Hauger and Juri Vips, with Marcus Armstrong and Clement Novalak completing the top 10.

Jehan Daruvala was looking to find improvements in the final five minutes of the session when he ran off at turn seven, bringing out the red flag once again. The field had already completed their second runs by this point, but some drivers were still on track and finding pace when the session was halted.

Few were able to find improvements when the track eventually turned green for the final time. Frederik Vesti was one of the few who were improving on their time, but a mistake at turn 12 sent him through the gravel and he would have to settle for P11, missing out on reversed-grid pole by 0.021s.

Track limits weren’t much of an issue, but Calan Williams did have a lap time deleted for exceeding them and dropped back to 20th on the grid, ahead of only Ralph Boschung and Tatiana Calderon.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m20.713s 13
2 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m20.939s +0.226s 10
3 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m21.241s +0.528s 12
4 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m21.242s +0.529s 13
5 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m21.243s +0.530s 12
6 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m21.281s +0.568s 12
7 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m21.347s +0.634s 11
8 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m21.443s +0.730s 11
9 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m21.454s +0.741s 11
10 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m21.559s +0.846s 14
11 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m21.580s +0.867s 13
12 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.619s +0.906s 12
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m21.733s +1.020s 12
14 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m21.738s +1.025s 14
15 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m21.923s +1.210s 13
16 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m21.984s +1.271s 4
17 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m22.007s +1.294s 11
18 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.075s +1.362s 12
19 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m22.084s +1.371s 11
20 Calan Williams Trident 1m22.122s +1.409s 14
21 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m22.399s +1.686s 11
22 Tatiana Calderon Charouz Racing System 1m23.113s +2.400s 12