Home News Denmark tops qualifying at USF2000 decider

Denmark tops qualifying at USF2000 decider

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Jace Denmark claimed pole position for the first race of the USF2000 championship decider in Portland.

The Pabst Racing driver was less than a tenth of a second quicker than Nikita Johnson but comfortably ahead of his title rivals.

Championship leader Myles Rowe led the way early on and was consistently at the sharp end of the field. Rowe hit the top of the order early on, but slipped backwards after improvements for Denmark, Johnson and Thomas Nepveu.

Rowe couldn’t improve in the final minutes of the session and finished qualifying fourth, 0.1065s off the time set by team-mate Denmark, who is now 23 points away from the lead after gaining one point for pole.

Second in the championship, Michael d’Orlando had a more difficult qualifying session. After hitting P2 early on, he slipped back down the order. He continued to find improvements, but couldn’t match the times his title rivals were settling and qualified ninth, ahead of Dylan Christie.

Jagger Jones also had a difficult session. He only managed nine laps, compared to the 14 laps completed by most of the field, and qualified P14.

Team-mate Nicky Hays was the quickest Cape Motorsport driver, placing fifth overall ahead of Mac Clark.

Jacob Douglas improved on is final lap of the session to go seventh, ahead of Exclusive Autosport team-mate Billy Frazer.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m11.8336s 15
2 Nikita Johnson VRD Racing 1m11.9141s +0.0805s 13
3 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m11.9256s +0.0920s 14
4 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m11.9401s +0.1065s 14
5 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports 1m12.1124s +0.2788s 14
6 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 1m12.1455s +0.3119s 14
7 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m12.2178s +0.3842s 14
8 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m12.2196s +0.3860s 14
9 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m12.2243s +0.3907s 14
10 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m12.2601s +0.4265s 13
11 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m12.2926s +0.4590s 15
12 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport 1m12.3360s +0.5024s 14
13 Nicholas d’Orlando Exclusive Autosport 1m12.4441s +0.6105s 14
14 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m12.4748s +0.6412s 9
15 Jorge Garciarce Jay Howard Driver Development 1m12.5311s +0.6975s 14
16 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 Motorsport w/Ignite Autosport 1m12.5467s +0.7131s 13
17 Danny Dyszelski Jay Howard Driver Development 1m12.5888s +0.7552s 11
18 Evagoras Papasavvas Jay Howard Driver Development 1m12.6284s +0.7948s 13
19 Ethan Ho VRD Racing 1m12.9865s +1.1529s 11
20 Lucas Mann Turn 3 Motorsport 1m13.0641s +1.2305s 15