Home Featured Drugovich heads morning session again on day two of F2 testing

Drugovich heads morning session again on day two of F2 testing

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Felipe Drugovich was fastest for the second morning in a row in Formula 2’s post-season Yas Marina Circuit test, setting the pace by nearly half a second.

Green flag running was limited during the three-hour session, as 74 minutes of track time was lost in five stoppages.

After three early red flag periods, it was over 30 minutes before Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung set the first representative laptime. Just before the end of the first hour, Drugovich then posted a couple of laps quicker than the rest of the field could manage.

Red flags were waved again after 72 minutes when DAMS driver Ayumu Iwasa crashed at Turn 15. The impact required a lengthy stoppage to repair the damage caused to the barriers.

The session resumed almost 40 minutes later, but there were no improvements in the top seven in the remaining hour.

Behind Drugovich the next four drivers were covered by just 0.1s. Virtuosi Racing’s new signing Jack Doohan was second, and Jehan Daruvala maintained his strong pace from day one to go third fastest, 0.614 seconds down on Drugovich.

The Prema driver was followed by Theo Pourchaire (ART Grand Prix), Liam Lawson (Carlin) and Juri Vips (Hitech). Jake Hughes managed an impressive seventh for Van Amersfoort Racing, and is believed to be in contention for a race seat with the incoming team, while Boschung who was one of the few drivers to improve in the final hour and went eighth fastest.

ART GP’s FIA Formula 3 graduate Frederik Vesti had been the only driver not to set a flying lap before the lengthy interruption, but a series of quick laps at the close of the session brought him up to 14th place.

The final red flag was required when Carlin driver Logan Sargeant stopped at the final corner.

Test results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m35.614s 35
2 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m36.079s +0.465s 34
3 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m36.228s +0.614s 47
4 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m36.258s +0.644s 45
5 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m36.271s +0.657s 31
6 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m36.329s +0.715s 22
7 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.465s +0.851s 16
8 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m36.551s +0.937s 44
9 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m36.612s +0.998s 44
10 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m36.618s +1.004s 26
11 Logan Sargeant Hitech GP 1m36.627s +1.013s 16
12 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m36.720s +1.106s 48
13 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m36.766s +1.152s 18
14 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m36.870s +1.256s 31
15 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m36.877s +1.263s 30
16 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m37.010s +1.396s 32
17 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m37.020s +1.406s 36
18 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m37.161s +1.547s 20
19 Juan Manuel Correa Charouz Racing System 1m37.349s +1.735s 36
20 Calan Williams Trident 1m37.666s +2.052s 31
21 Teppei Natori Trident 1m37.666s +2.052s 29
22 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.916s +2.302s 21