Home News D’Orlando fends off Campbell to win USF2000’s Freedom 75

D’Orlando fends off Campbell to win USF2000’s Freedom 75

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Cape Motorsports’ Michael d’Orlando triumphed in a thrilling battle with DEForce Racing’s Prescott Campbell to beat USF2000’s sole oval race of 2021 at Lucas Oil Raceway.

The pair started on the front and d’Orlando put himself into the lead at the start of the 75-lap race. Campbell slotted in behind and at no point was he more than a second off the lead.

Campbell had a couple of strong opportunities to get past. The first came on lap 46 but was just about unable to get through. The second came with a lunge on lap 62 that also didn’t quite come off.

The final major attempt came with 10 laps to go. Campbell drifted wide on the exit of Turn 2 and the pair connected, interlocking down the back straight, but both were able to continue.

Any damage sustained seemed to be less for d’Orlando than for Campbell, as third-placed Jace Denmark-Gessel had the best pace and pressured Campbell as the race came to its conclusion.

Regardless, d’Orlando came through to take his second win in USF2000 and his first of the season in the highest scoring race of the year.

Campbell narrowly held onto second ahead of Pabst Racing’s Denmark, who was almost pipped by DEForce’s Kiko Porto at the flag.

Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks finished fifth ahead of championship leader Yuven Sundaramoorthy, Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green, Pabst’s Josh Pierson and DEForce’s Nolan Siegel.

By far the most entertaining scrap of the race was over 10th, with Turn 3’s Dylan Christie coming out on top ahead of Cape with Ignite Autosport’s Spike Kohlbecker, Force Indy’s Myles Rowe and DEForce’s Ely Navarro.

Exclusive’s Matt Round-Garrido was in the scrap over 10th but retired with a mechanical issue and saw his title hopes extinguish further.

Race results (75 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 29m22.0379s
2 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing +0.5268s
3 Jace Denmark-Gessel Pabst Racing +0.9503s
4 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +1.0468s
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +5.7788s
6 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +5.9328s
7 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +6.1636s
8 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +7.5531s
9 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing +8.0563s
10 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport +10.6016s
11 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosports +10.6989s
12 Myles Rowe Force Indy +17.9502s
13 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +22.6738s
14 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +1 lap
15 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosports +1 lap
16 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +1 lap
17 Jackson Lee JHDD +1 lap
18 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +1 lap
19 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing +1 lap
20 Bijoy Garg JHDD +2 laps
21 Nathan Byrd Legacy Autosport +2 laps
22 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +2 laps
23 Peter Vodanovich JHDD +3 laps
Ret Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Campbell, 22.5188s

Championship standings
Sundaramoorthy 177   2 Porto 170   3 Brooks 164   4 d’Orlando 164   5 Pierson 158   6 Campbell 140   7 Kohlbecker 112   Green 112   9 Nepveu 98   10 Denmark-Gessel 89