Home News Quique Bordas takes maiden Spanish F4 win in race one at Navarra

Quique Bordas takes maiden Spanish F4 win in race one at Navarra

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Spanish F4

Quique Bordas claimed his first single-seater victory by triumphing in the opening Spanish Formula 4 race of the weekend at Navarra.

After qualifying third, the second-year driver took the lead after bad starts from the front row for both Dilano van’t Hoff and Daniel Macia.

After lining up on pole, van’t Hoff bogged down and dropped to fourth behind MP Motorsport team-mates George Kelstrup and Noah Degnbol, while Praga F4 driver Macia stalled and rejoined last after the field managed to avoid his stationary car.

Van’t Hoff swiftly disposed of Degnbol on the opening lap to move into third. But the Dutchman’s progress stopped there, spending the majority of the race within one-second of Bordas and Kelstrup, with Degnbol following close behind.

Bordas pulled clear in the closing stages to take the win for Praga by 1.5 seconds, while Van’t Hoff finally found a way past Kelstrup into second with two laps remaining.

Degnbol finished 0.3s behind Kelstup in fourth, while Sebastian Ogaard had a lonely run to fifth place for Campos Racing.

Rik Koen came from 12th on the grid to finish sixth, 0.2s ahead of MP team-mate Manuel Espirito Santo, with Guilherme Oliveira just a further 0.1s adrift in eighth for Drivex School

Filip Jenic was ninth for Teo Martin Motorsport, while MP’s Suleiman Zanfari gained five places to finish 10th. After stalling at the start, Macia recovered to finish 11th.

Two more races take place on Sunday, with Bordas having claimed pole for the second of those encounters in Saturday’s qualifying session.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Quique Bordas Praga F4
2 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +1.507s
3 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +2.804s
4 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +3.119s
5 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +6.484s
6 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +9.798s
7 Manuel Espirito Santo MP Motorsport +9.980s
8 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +10.090s
9 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +12.684s
10 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +14.175s
11 Daniel Macia Praga F4 +14.269s
12 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +21.611s
13 Santiago Trisini MP Motorsport +23.606s
14 Alex Dunne Pinnacle Motorsport +26.727s
15 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +28.286s
16 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +28.530s
17 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport +28.583s
18 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School +40.369s
19 Alex Garcia Campos Racing +40.664s
20 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School +43.648s
21 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsport +50.224s
22 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +1m06.298s
23 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing +1m10.247s
24 Noam Abramczyk Drivex School +1 lap
25 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service
Fastest lap: Degnbol, 1m40.190s

Championship standings
1 van’t Hoff 85   2 Kelstrup 44   3 Bordas 40   4 Marti 32   5 Santiago Ramos 31   6 Ogaard 26   7 Macia 25   8 Dunne 23   9 Degnbol 23   10 Koen 21