Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Doohan fastest for Trident on opening morning of FIA F3 test at Jerez

Doohan fastest for Trident on opening morning of FIA F3 test at Jerez

by Ida Wood

Jack Doohan started the second post-season FIA Formula 3 Championship test with the fastest time for Trident on the opening morning.

The Australian went to the top of the times 17 minutes into the three-hour session with his first non-installation lap, but then remained in the pits for just under two hours before returning to track and sprung back up to second on the timesheet behind Hitech GP’s Johnathan Hoggard.

The rest of the field spent most of the final hour in the pits, with Doohan surpassing Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams for first place with a 1m30.165s lap with 29 minutes to go.

That benchmark remained unbeaten, with Red Bull stablemate Dennis Hauger getting closest for Prema with a lap 0.226 seconds short just a few minutes after Doohan set his best.

Having raced for Prema this year, Frederik Vesti has joined ART Grand Prix for the test. The Dane set two laps good enough for fourth with 17 mins to go, having been fastest earlier on, with MP Motorsport’s Matteo Nannini jumping up to fifth shortly after.

Hoggard sank down to sixth, just ahead of Cameron Das (Carlin), Igor Fraga (Hitech) and Clement Novalak (Trident) – who was the driver on top at the halfway point of the session – and his team-mate David Schumacher.

There was only one interruption to the session, a red flag caused by ADAC Formula 4 title contender Jak Crawford. The American ended up 17th fastest and just behind Prema’s Caio Collet, who had also topped the times at one point.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Trident 1m30.165s 19
2 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m30.391s +0.226s 23
3 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.473s +0.308s 27
4 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m30.554s +0.389s 31
5 Matteo Nannini MP Motorsport 1m30.566s +0.401s 24
6 Johnathan Hoggard Hitech GP 1m30.621s +0.456s 29
7 Cameron Das Carlin 1m30.696s +0.531s 32
8 Igor Fraga Hitech GP 1m30.698s +0.533s 31
9 Clement Novalak Trident 1m30.701s +0.536s 28
10 David Schumacher Trident 1m30.704s +0.539s 32
11 Roman Stanek ART Grand Prix 1m30.858s +0.693s 29
12 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m30.890s +0.725s 36
13 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m30.925s +0.760s 24
14 Pierre-Louis Chovet HWA Racelab 1m30.982s +0.817s 39
15 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m31.056s +0.891s 34
16 Caio Collet Prema 1m31.093s +0.928s 26
17 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m31.116s +0.951s 23
18 Olli Caldwell ART Grand Prix 1m31.221s +1.056s 31
19 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m31.243s +1.078s 23
20 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m31.370s +1.205s 15
21 Francesco Pizzi MP Motorsport 1m31.450s +1.286s 27
22 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m31.515s +1.350s 31
23 Petr Ptacek Campos Racing 1m31.556s +1.391s 35
24 Rafael Villagomez Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.586s +1.421s 27
25 Alessandro Famularo Campos Racing 1m31.931s +1.766s 35
26 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.061s +1.896s 31
27 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m32.149s +1.985s 34
28 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m32.246s +2.081s 28
29 Konta Lappalainen Charouz Racing System 1m32.526s +2.361s 28
30 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m32.754s +2.589s 26