Home Formula 4British F4 Dimitrov wins delayed Silverstone reversed-grid British F4 race

Dimitrov wins delayed Silverstone reversed-grid British F4 race

by Bethonie Waring

Arden driver Georgi Dimitrov won a delayed reversed-grid British Formula 4 race at Silverstone.

Dimitrov got the lead from championship newcomer Cameron McLeod on the opening lap while drama further back for Eduardo Coseteng brought out the safety car.

McLeod stuck with Dimitrov on the restart and the two broke away as David Morales and Dougie Bolger battled for position.

The fight ended with a safety car, though, as Bolger attempted a dive down the inside of Morales and his team-mate, Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, and made contact with the Arden driver.

At the same time, championship leader Mattias Zagazeta collided with Zak Taylor, causing Taylor to stop on track and damaging Zagazeta’s front wing.

When racing resumed once more, Dimitrov was able to pull a small gap away from McLeod. McLeod had a quiet end to the race, finishing 1.476s behind the race leader in his second British F4 race, but with a comfortable gap to third.

After Bolger and Inthraphuvasak ran wide to avoid the spinning Morales, James Hedley was promoted into third. He stayed there for much of the race, but was under constant pressure from Kai Askey.

Defending against Askey allowed Joseph Loake and the train of drivers trailing him to join the back of the battle for third and Hedley slipped back to sixth by the chequered flag.

Askey took the podium finish ahead of Loake and a recovering Inthraphuvasak.

Hedley was the best-placed driver in the championship fight but, with those starting at the back of the grid making up positions for places gained, the race played into the hands of McKenzy Cresswell, who started 14th and finished eighth, just behind Oliver Gray.

Gray was one of two drivers who were set to not start the race at the original start time. Both Gray and McLeod were wheeled off the starting grid, but delays to clear oil off the track led to the race behind postponed until later in the schedule. As the race hadn’t actually started, both drivers were permitted to enter.

Completing the top 10 was Marcos Flack and Aiden Neate, while Zagazeta recovered to 11th after his trip to the pits.

Race results (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Georgi Dimitrov Arden 20m07.439s
2 Cameron McLeod Arden +1.476s
3 Kai Askey Carlin +2.009s
4 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +2.154s
5 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin +2.890s
6 James Hedley Fortec Motorsports +4.270s
7 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports +5.445s
8 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments +5.807s
9 Marcos Flack Argenti +6.071s
10 Aiden Neate Argenti +7.618s
11 Matias Zagazeta Argenti +54.446s
12 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
13 Zak Taylor Arden +1 lap
14 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +5 laps
Ret Dougie Bolger Carlin
Ret David Morales Arden
Ret Eduardo Coseteng Argenti
Fastest lap: Loake, 56.779s

Championship standings
Zagazeta 251   2 Rees 234   Cresswell 212   4 Granfors 204   Hedley 189   6 Gray 157   Loake 144   8 Inthrapuvasak 98   9 Neate 98   10 Abbi Pulling 97