Home Featured Belov takes lights-to-flag FREC win at Valencia

Belov takes lights-to-flag FREC win at Valencia

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: FRECA

Michael Belov took the win in Formula Regional European Championship race two at Valencia after leading every lap from pole.

This is Belov and G4 Racing’s second win, and with it he rose to 10th place in the standings despite missing three rounds and not scoring at Paul Ricard, where he participated as a wildcard.

Second place went to Saturday’s race winner Franco Colapinto, who couldn’t really challenge Belov for the victory.

Championship leader Gregoire Saucy came third, as his attempt to pass Colapinto at the start was unsuccessful and no more opportunities arose.

A good start helped Belov keep first place ahead of Colapinto, who had to defend from Saucy who had a better getaway.

Prema’s David Vidales, second on Saturday, also had a good start and moved from seventh to fifth.

Similar to race one, R-ace GP’s Zane Maloney made the most of lap one to gain three places, getting himself into the top 10.

He would then deliver some action when a few laps in he went side-by-side with FA Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto and finally passed the Brazilian. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya, who had lost eighth to Maloney at the start, took advantage of Bortoleto being pushed to pass him too.

Boya would put pressure on Maloney for seventh later on, but attempting a move was far more difficult than on Saturday.

Prema’s Dino Beganovic slowed on the main straight with technical issues five minutes into the race, and while the Swede was able to bring his car back to the pitlane, and then rejoin the race two laps down, he would later retire in the pits.

With eight minutes to go, Dilano van’t Hoff made contact with the rear of Jose Garfias, causing both to retire and the safety car being deployed while their cars were recovered.

The race went green again after, but there was no overtaking in the top 10.

In the midfield, Andrea Rosso was able to pull off a move on Axel Gnos, going to the inside at turn four and consolidating it at turn five.

Nicola Marinangeli and Pietro Delli Guanti, immediately behind, wouldn’t miss the opportunity and also passed Gnos.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Michael Belov G4 Racing 20 laps
2 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.237s
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +2.257s
4 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +3.379s
5 David Vidales Prema +3.852s
6 Hadrien David R-ace GP +4.563s
7 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +5.459s
8 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +6.172s
9 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +6.663s
10 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +7.088s
11 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport +7.825s
12 Paul Aron Prema +8.083s
13 William Alatalo Arden +9.013s
14 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +9.373s
15 Alex Quinn Arden +9.504s
16 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +10.130s
17 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +12.721s
18 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +13.129s
19 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +13.926s
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +14.601s
21 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +14.844s
22 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix +15.001s
23 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +15.570s
24 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +16.092s
25 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +17.952s
26 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +18.133s
27 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +20.018s
28 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +24.202s
29 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +27.451s
30 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +30.691s
31 Jasin Ferati KIC Motorsport +44.293s
Ret Jose Garfias Monolite Racing
Ret Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport
Ret Dino Beganovic Prema
Fastest lap: Beganovic, 1m30.153s

Championship standings
Saucy 239   2 David 161   3 Maloney 151   4 Hadjar 123   5 Aron 121   6 Colapinto 116   7 Mini 110   8 Quinn 104   9 Vidales 86   10 Alatalo 77