Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Dienst keeps cool over three restarts to win inaugural ADAC F4 race

Dienst keeps cool over three restarts to win inaugural ADAC F4 race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC F4

Photo: ADAC F4

HTP’s signing Marvin Dienst became the first race winner in ADAC F4 history, claiming the victory in the inaugural race at Oschersleben.

Dienst, who has raced in the championship’s predecessor ADAC Formel Masters, made a lightning getaway and survived three restarts to emerge victorious.

Teammate Janneau Esmeijer led the field off the line but, with front row starter Joseph Mawson struggling to get going, Dienst pulled up to second and even briefly challenged Esmeijer into turn one.

Both Dienst and Prema’s Ralf Aron then passed the Dutchman over the opening lap, but a turn one clash between Pirosports teammates Toni Wolff and Cedric Piro brought out the safety car.

Dienst subsequently made a solid restart, while Esmeijer noticeably struggled for pace, letting Michael Waldherr through almost immediately and then being passed by Mattia Drudi and Joel Eriksson.

Contact in the mid-pack brought out another safety car with Benjamin Mazatis of Mucke beached in the gravel. It wasn’t a long stoppage though and Dienst was speeding off into the distance in no time.

Waldherr briefly challenged Aron for second, but himself then fell prey to Drudi, with a strange off for Robert Schwartzman then forcing yet another safety car appearance.

Yet again, the restart was nailed by Dienst, but Aron had the pace to keep up and eventually was within four tenths or so of the German. However, Dienst held on to claim a milestone win.

Drudi, Italian F4’s 2014 runner-up, was third ahead of Motopark drivers Eriksson and Waldherr, the latter somehow holding off much faster Mawson in the final laps of the race.

Mawson’s teammate Harri Newey took seventh with Tim Zimmermann, last year’s top rookie in Formel Masters, in eighth.

Mick Schumacher enjoyed a solid debut in car racing, keeping out of trouble and steadily gaining positions over the course of the race. He finished ninth, ending up as the best single-seater debutant in the classification.

He was closely followed by Rotax star Thomas Preining, who was a very late signing for Mucke but ended the race as the team’s top driver.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team 18 laps in 31:02.192
2 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +0.975
3 Mattia Drudi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +4.214
4 Joel Eriksson Motopark +5.314
5 Michael Waldherr Motopark +7.765
6 Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +8.120
7 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +9.168
8 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +9.545
9 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +10.065
10 Thomas Preining Mucke Motorsport +10.610
11 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +12.317
12 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +15.243
13 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +17.583
14 Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +17.907
15 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +18.157
16 Marcel Lenerz Lechner Racing +18.556
17 Jannes Fittje Motopark +19.976
18 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +21.541
19 Jan Jonck RS Competition +21.905
20 Robin Brezina Privateer +24.143
21 Job van Uitert Privateer +24.234
22 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +25.251
23 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +27.051
24 Alain Valente Race Performance +27.726
25 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +27.918
26 Leon Wippersteg Team Timo Scheider +28.440
27 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +31.518
28 Guanyu Zhou Prema Powerteam +1 lap
29 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +6 laps
Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +10 laps
Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +10 laps
Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +14 laps
Toni Wolff Pirosports +18 laps
Cedric Piro Pirosports +18 laps