Home Featured Dennis Hauger takes Italian F4 title with another Mugello victory

Dennis Hauger takes Italian F4 title with another Mugello victory

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Dennis Hauger dominated the final Italian Formula 4 race at Mugello, securing the title with three races to spare.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver cannot be outscored by Prema’s Gianluca Petecof when the 16 best scores are taken into account to calculate the final points tally for the season, therefore making Hauger champion.

After sprinting away from Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Durksen and Prema’s Paul Aron off the line, Red Bull junior Hauger was unchallenged throughout the race. He set multiple fast laps on his way to victory, 9.633 seconds ahead of the rest of the field.

Hauger?s lead was aided by Aron and Duerksen battling for second. Aron was able to pull away from Duerksen in the second half of the race but had no answer for the leader’s pace.

Duerksen spent the closing stages of the race battling to keep Petecof and Bhaitech’s Mikhael Belov behind him. Title contender Petecof successfully held off Belov, but could not find a way past Duerksen for third and had to concede the title.

Third place for Duerksen marked his first podium finish since the Red Bull Ring round in July.

Oliver Rasmussen finished sixth for Prema, with Roman Stanek behind him in seventh. The US Racing driver has now dropped out of contention for the rookie title, which will be fought between Aron, Duerksen and Jonny Edgar at the Monza season finale.

William Alatalo, Lorenzo Ferrari, and Edgar completed the top 10 in the race.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Denis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing 32m54.599s
2 Paul Aron Prema +9.633s
3 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +11.717s
4 Gianluca Petecof Prema +12.192s
5 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +12.401s
6 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +14.756s
7 Roman Stanek US Racing +18.614s
8 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +21.076s
9 Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +22.445s
10 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +23.158s
11 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +24.695s
12 Alessandro Famularo Prema +25.163s
13 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +25.465s
14 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +38.866s
15 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli +42.902s
16 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +48.412s
17 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +48.733s
18 Jesse Salmenautio DRZ Benelli +50.562s
19 Erwin Zanotti Mucke Motorsport +51.769s
20 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +55.060s
21 Emidio Pesce Jenzer Motorsport +55.089s
22 Filipe Ugran BVM Racing +55.108s
23 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +56.119s
24 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +56.138s
25 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +1m02.996s
26 Santiago Ramos DR Formula +1m18.347s
27 Axel Gnos Jenzer Motorsport +1m47.014s
Ret Umberto Laganella Bhaitech
Pole: Hauger, 1m46.408s? ? ? Fastest lap: Hauger, 1m48.345s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 305? ?2 Petecof 222? ?3 Aron 197? ?4 Belov 142? ?5 Stanek 118? ?6 Cohen 116? ?7 Duerksen 112? ?8 Alatalo 94? ?9 Edgar 89? ?10 Rasmussen 89