Home Formula 4Italian F4 Dennis Hauger extends Italian F4 lead with Mugello victory

Dennis Hauger extends Italian F4 lead with Mugello victory

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Dennis Hauger extended his Italian Formula 4 championship lead with victory in the second race at Mugello.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver led from start-to-finish to take his eighth win of the season and extend his advantage over Guanluca Petecof to 70 points with just four races remaining.

After a strong opening half of the race, Hauger had an advantage of over three seconds to US Racing’s Roman Stanek when the safety car was brought out as Hauger’s team-mate Lucas Alecco Roy span into the gravel with nine minutes left of the race.

When the track turned green with four-and-a-half minutes remaining, Hauger was again able to pull away while Stanek battled with his other team-mate Ido Cohen, who was recovering after running wide into the gravel early in the race.

Two more incidents in the closing sages of the race ? Amna Al Qubaisi running off with 30 seconds remaining and Nicola Marinangeli hitting the wall on the final lap ? weren?t enough to pause the racing and Hauger was free to take the chequered flag almost four seconds clear.

Stanek managed to shake off Cohen, who then came under pressure from Prema’s race one winner Paul Aron.

Cohen had been running third early in the race before a wide moment over the gravel dropped him behind Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen. Aron and Petecof followed past soon after and Cohen began the long battle back up the order.

He had found his way back up to third by the time the safety car was called, but spent the closing stages of the race battling to keep Aron behind. The pair swapped positions twice, with Cohen reclaiming third for his third podium of the season.

Aron took fourth ahead of Durksen, Petecof and William Alatalo.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Denis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing 33m08.286s
2 Roman Stanek US Racing +3.906s
3 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +5.070s
4 Paul Aron Prema +5.568s
5 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +6.592s
6 Gianluca Petecof Prema +7.508s
7 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +8.659s
8 Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +8.802s
9 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +9.769s
10 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +10.517s
11 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +11.713s
12 Axel Gnos Jenzer Motorsport +12.909s
13 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +13.306s
14 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +14.061s
15 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli +14.261s
16 Alessandro Famularo Prema +15.537s
17 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +16.084s
18 Jesse Salmenautio DRZ Benelli +17.479s
19 Emidio Pesce Jenzer Motorsport +17.595s
20 Emiliano Cipriani Cram Motorsport +19.074s
21 Filipe Ugran BVM Racing +20.979s
22 Erwin Zanotti Mucke Motorsport +21.078s
23 Santiago Ramos DR Formula +21.727s
24 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +24.858s
25 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +1 lap
26 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +3 laps
Ret Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Umberto Laganella Bhaitech
Pole: Hauger, 1m46.341s? ? ? Fastest lap: Hauger, 1m48.287s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 280? ?2 Petecof 210? ?3 Aron 179? ?4 Belov 132? ?5 Cohen 116? ?6 Stanek 112? ?7 Duerksen 97? ?8 Alatalo 90? ?9 Edgar 88? ?10 Rasmuusen 81