Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins closes Eurocup points gap with Hockenheim win

Victor Martins closes Eurocup points gap with Hockenheim win

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency

Victor Martins closed the Formula Renault Eurocup championship gap to Oscar Piastri after winning from pole in race one at Hockenheim.

MP Motorsport driver Martins didn’t get the best start, with R-ace GP’s Piastri taking the lead before the first turn. However a side-by-side battle in the following corners enabled JD Motorsport’s Ugo de Wilde to jump past both.

Martins and Piastri had other chances during the early parts of the race to battle, although by the second half of the 30-minute race Martins was in the lead of the race again after de Wilde fell down the order.

There wasn’t any further trouble as Martins took the chequered flag with a three-second gap to the championship leader, taking his winning streak to three races.

Piastri’s team-mate Caio Collet cemented the final podium position – his first top three finish since the Nurburgring – with no battles around him. The result means he will be crowned rookie champion.

De Wilde had to hold off the likes of championship returnees Gregoire Saucy (R-ace GP) and Sebastian Fernandez (Arden) at the end to claim fourth place, with just 1.2 seconds separating the trio.

M2 Competition’s Kush Maini took the chequered flag in seventh place, with Arden’s Patrik Pasma not too far behind him in eighth.

F1 Esports Series racer Cem Bolukbasi finished 16th on his single-seater debut for M2 Competition, while Alexander Smolyar saw his title chances decrease with a retirement.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 19 laps
2 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP +3.099s
3 Caio Collet R-ace GP +11.371s
4 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +18.753s
5 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +19.229s
6 Sebatian Fernandez Arden +19.955s
7 Kush Maini M2 Competition +21.146s
8 Patrik Pasma Arden +21.968s
9 Frank Bird Arden +27.980s
10 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +28.259s
11 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +29.055s
12 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +29.492s
13 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +32.182s
14 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +35.047s
15 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +35.241s
16 Cem Bolukbasi M2 Competition +40.176s
Ret Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Piastri, 1m38.850s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 265? ?2 Martins 259.5? ?3 Smolyar 208? ?4 Colombo 173.5? ?5 Collet 173? ?6 Maini 80? ?7 de Wilde 80? ?8 Ptacek 66? ?9 Joao Vieira 59? ?10 Pasma 50