Home News Denmark seals double USF2000 Toronto pole

Denmark seals double USF2000 Toronto pole

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Road to Indy

Jace Denmark topped the second USF2000 qualifying session to earn his second pole position of the weekend in Toronto.

Denmark finished second quickest in qualifying one behind team-mate Myles Rowe, but Rowe was demoted two positions for taking the chequered flag twice.

This time, Denmark would top the times on track with a lap time of 1m12.190s.

The Pabst Racing driver topped the order early on with a time of 1m14.000s and gradually brought the fastest lap down. Jagger Jones briefly took the top spot, only to be knocked down to P2 by Evagoras Papasavvas.

Denmark returned to the top of the order and, after swapping places with Rowe a number of times, finally set a lap time that would be unreachable by the rest of the field.

The session was ended a minute early when Nicholas d’Orlando hit the tyre barriers at the final corner, bringing out the red flag and halting any final flying laps.

Jones jumped up to second just before the red flag with a time 0.042s off Denmark’s pace.

Rowe qualified P3, ahead of championship rival Michael d’Orlando. D’Orlando spent most of the session towards the tail end of the field but jumped up to P4 shortly before the red flag.

Billy Frazer took fifth after running at the sharp end of the field early on. Thomas Nepveu and Jacob Douglas took sixth and seventh.

Spike Kohlbecker, Bijoy Garg and Papasavvas completed the top 10.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m12.1898s 15
2 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m12.2314s +0.0416s 14
3 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m12.2668s +0.0770s 15
4 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m12.4224s +0.2326s 13
5 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m12.6222s +0.4324s 14
6 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m12.7237s +0.5339s 13
7 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m12.8670s +0.6772s 14
8 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 Motorsport w/Ignite Autosport 1m12.8772s +0.6874s 14
9 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m12.8943s +0.7045s 13
10 Evagoras Papasavvas Jay Howard Driver Development 1m12.9363s +0.7465s 15
11 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m12.9634s +0.7736s 13
12 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports 1m13.3961s +1.2063s 14
13 Jorge Garciarce Jay Howard Driver Development 1m13.5087s +1.3189s 14
14 Nicholas d’Orlando Exclusive Autosport 1m13.5393s +1.3495s 12
15 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m13.7551s +1.5653s 8
16 Frederik Lund Jay Howard Driver Development 1m15.0413s +2.8515s 14