Home News Foster doubles up in Toronto qualifying two

Foster doubles up in Toronto qualifying two

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster claimed pole for the second time this weekend on the streets of Toronto, his fourth consecutive pole position of the season.

Foster and Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green exchanged first place in the early minutes of the session.

Points leader Foster topped the times when the cars headed into the pitlane for new tyres. At that point, second place was occupied by DEForce Racing’s Kiko Porto, who demoted Green to third before entering the pits.

It took drivers a couple of laps in the second run before being able to improve their first run benchmarks.

Green was the first one to lower his laptime, retaking second place from Porto.

Drivers continued to improve and it was DEForce Racing’s Nolan Siegel who went on top of the times with two consecutive fastest laps. With a lap of 1m09.2368s, he was the first one to clock a lap faster than the qualifying one pole time.

Foster soon took the top spot again and briefly lost it to Green with just over three minutes remaining on the clock before regaining it the lap later to eventually claim pole once again.

Foster and Siegel were the only two drivers to lap sub-1m09s, with a best lap of 1m08.6292d and 1m08.8572s respectively.

Last lap improvements allowed Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold and Pabst Racing’s Jordan Missig to get within the top five, sitting fourth and fifth respectively.

Salvador de Alba, Enaam Ahmed, Jack William Miller, Jonathan Browne and Yuven Sundaramoorthy completed the top 10.

An incident on the lap back to the pitlane resulted in Green stopping in the pit entry with a damaged car. The red flag wasn’t waved as the session had already ended, therefore he is expected to keep third place.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m08.6292s   15
2 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m08.8572s +0.2280s 15
3 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m09.0260s +0.3968s 14
4 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m09.0595s +0.4303s 14
5 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m09.1123s +0.4831s 15
6 Salvador de Alba JHDD 1m09.1311s +0.5019s 14
7 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m09.1454s +0.5162s 15
8 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports w/ Exclusive 1m09.2057s +0.5765s 15
9 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m09.2511s +0.6219s 15
10 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m09.2552s +0.6260s 15
11 Braden Eves JHDD 1m09.2902s +0.6610s 14
12 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m09.4492s +0.8200s 15
13 Wyatt Brichacek Exclusive Autosport 1m09.9382s +1.3090s 14
14 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m11.3364s +2.7072s 14