Home News Foster flies to third Indy Pro 2000 pole in a row on Toronto streets

Foster flies to third Indy Pro 2000 pole in a row on Toronto streets

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Indy Pro 2000 points leader Louis Foster will start his first race on the Toronto street circuit from pole.

The Exclusive Autosport driver just pipped Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Enaam Ahmed to top spot in Friday afternoon qualifying by 0.0836 seconds, with Ahmed having set the early pace on what is also his first visit to the track.

Braden Eves was next to top the times after Ahmed, being the first driver to lap in the 1m10s. Foster soon took over at the top though, and he broke into the 1m09s.

He was on provisional pole when the session was red flagged after Jack William Miller spun around and crashed exiting turn one, and then disputed first place with Eves when qualifying resumed and all but Miller headed back out.

Foster couldn’t find any more pace in the final minutes while his rivals were all improving, but none could quite get close enough to his best laptime.

Ahmed and Gold both set their fastest laps on their final efforts, and Gold was 0.1430s off pole in third place.

DEForce Racing’s practice pacesetter Nolan Siegel qualified fourth, and Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green went fifth at the end to demote Eves to sixth.

Yuven Sundaramoorthy was in second when the red flags were waved, and he took longer to find a new limit after the restart and ended up qualifying down in seventh.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m09.4139s 12
2 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m09.4975s +0.0836s 11
3 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m09.5569s +0.1430s 11
4 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m09.6096s +0.1957s 12
5 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m09.6170s +0.2031s 11
6 Braden Eves JHDD 1m09.7427s +0.3288s 11
7 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m09.8364s +0.4225s 12
8 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m09.9614s +0.5475s 12
9 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m10.0743s +0.6604s 12
10 Salvador de Alba JHDD 1m10.1577s +0.7438s 12
11 Wyatt Brichacek Exclusive Autosport 1m10.5107s +1.0968s 12
12 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m11.0933s +1.6794s 11
13 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports w/ Exclusive 1m11.3624s +1.9485s 5
14 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m12.6420s +3.2281s 12