Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Deletraz sweeps qualifying for Hockenheim finale

Deletraz sweeps qualifying for Hockenheim finale

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Formula Renault 2.0 NEC championship leader Louis Deletraz put himself in prime position to secure the drivers’ title by claiming pole for all three races of the Hockenheim finale.

The Swiss driver edged compatriot and main rival Kevin Jorg in both sessions and also picked up pole for race three on second-best times from qualifying one.

Deletraz beat Jorg by two tenths in the first session, with Jehan Daruvala and third championship contender Ukyo Sasahara making up row two.

Rookie classification points leader Max Defourny beat Dries Vanthoor to fifth, with series newcomer Denis Bulatov taking seventh for AVF.

Bulatov’s teammate Josef Zaruba was eighth, with Darius Oskoui and Nikita Mazepin completing the top ten.

On second-best times, which determine the grid for race three, Daruvala demoted Jorg to row two, which the Swiss driver will share with Sasahara.

Vanthoor passed Defourny for fifth, with Oskoui, Zaruba, Mazepin and Henrique Chaves making up the top ten.

Finally, qualifying session two saw another Deletraz pole and, while Jorg managed to improve late in the session, he could only get to within 0.14s of his teammate.

Sasahara was third, ahead of an all-rookie quartet of Vanthoor, Oskoui, Daruvala and Defourny, while the top ten was completed by Zaruba, Mazepin and Chaves.