Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Deletraz fights back to win second Monza race

Deletraz fights back to win second Monza race

by Gruz David
Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Louis Deletraz was victorious in the second and final race of the first Formula Renault 2.0 NEC round of 2015 at Monza.

The victory salvaged the Swiss driver’s weekend after a troubled first race where he only finished 14th after a drive-through penalty.

Starting from pole again, Deletraz gave up the lead to Ukyo Sasahara after a somewhat sluggish getaway, only to take it back at the end of the opening lap.

It was smooth sailing for Deletraz from that point on. Saturday’s winner Sasahara was the only one able to stay close to the Swiss driver and finished three seconds behind.

Valentin Hasse-Clot celebrated an impressive podium in his debut round in Formula Renault 2.0, having to defend from Kevin Jorg for the bigger part of the race.

Jorg was looking to get past the French newcomer when his race took an unfortunate turn. The Swiss driver was sent into a spin at turn one by the duo of Callan O’Keeffe and Dennis Olsen, who were battling for fifth, going side-by-side into the corner.

While Jorg managed to rejoin in ninth, O’Keeffe was forced to retire two laps before the end.

Profiting from the clashes ahead, Force India junior Jehan Daruvala made it up to fourth just ahead of his teammate and fellow rookie Alex Gill.

Olsen had to settle for sixth, followed by another Manor driver Lasse Sorensen and Strakka’s Max Defourny. The top ten was completed by Jorg and Luke Chudleigh.

Race two results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 25:39.337
2 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +2.909
3 Valentin Hasse-Clot Strakka Racing +12.709
4 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +16.336
5 Alex Gill Fortec Motorsports +17.036
6 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport +19.475
7 Lasse Sorensen Manor MP Motorsport +20.268
8 Max Defourny Strakka Racing +20.796
9 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +23.049
10 Luke Chudleigh Fortec Motorsports +24.941
11 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +25.718
12 Zachary Claman DeMelo Fortec Motorsports +26.540
13 Josef Zaruba AVF +27.866
14 Roy Geerts AVF +28.228
15 Henrique Chaves AVF +30.848
16 Bartolomie Mirecki BM Racing +32.981
17 Inigo Bikuna AVF +37.742
18 Pontus Fredricsson Prizma Motorsport +39.701
19 David Richert Inter Europol +56.674
20 Charlie Eastwood Strakka Racing +1 laps
21 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports +2 laps
Not classified
Ignazio D’Agosto Manor MP Motorsport +6 laps
Colin Noble MGR Motorsport +7 laps
Bronislav Formanek AVF +7 laps
Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports +10 laps
Rahul Raj Mayer Mark Burdett Motorsport +14 laps
Oliver Soderstrom Fragus BR Motorsport +14 laps
Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +14 laps
Dries Vanthoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +14 laps
Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing +14 laps