Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Deletraz claims victory in final FR2.0 NEC race at Spielberg

Deletraz claims victory in final FR2.0 NEC race at Spielberg

by Gruz David
Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Louis Deletraz converted his pole into a victory in race three at Spielberg, making it six consecutive Josef Kaufmann race wins in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC.

Starting from the front row, Deletraz and Kevin Jorg easily pulled away from the rest of the pack to celebrate their third 1-2 finish in a row.

Alex Gill was third after the start but he gifted the position to Ukyo Sasahara, spinning at the final turn.

Max Defourny and Jehan Daruvala were also early victims of the race, retiring in the first and second corners respectively after a main-straight clash with Pontus Fredricsson.

Sasahara managed to hold on to third for the first half of the race before losing three spots in two laps.

As a result, it was Nikita Mazepin who stood on the podium, celebrating his maiden top-three finish in the series.

Fortec duo – Callan O’Keeffe and local driver Ferdinand Habsburg – completed the top five with Sasahara settling for sixth.

Charlie Eastwood secured seventh followed by MGR’s Colin Noble. Gill, who made up four positions after his mistake, ended up ninth, with Portuguese Henrique Chaves recording his first top-ten finish.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 13 laps in 20:13.400
2 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +1.601
3 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing +8.578
4 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports +10.995
5 Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports +11.453
6 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +12.063
7 Charlie Eastwood Strakka Racing +12.952
8 Colin Noble MGR Motorsport +15.942
9 Alex Gill Fortec Motorsports +16.498
10 Henrique Chaves AVF +20.290
11 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +20.919
12 Josef Zaruba AVF +21.957
13 Rahul Raj Mayer Mark Burdett Motorsport +25.168
14 Bartek Mirecki BM Racing +27.659
15 Pontus Fredricsson Prizma Motorsport +35.848
16 David Richert Inter Europol Competition +36.121
Not classified
Dries Vanthoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +7 laps
Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +13 laps
Max Defourny Strakka Racing +13 laps