Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup De Vries storms past Olsen to claim fifth win of Eurocup campaign

De Vries storms past Olsen to claim fifth win of Eurocup campaign

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fran?ois Flamand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Fran?ois Flamand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion Nyck de Vries added a fifth victory to his title-winning campaign in race one of the season finale at Jerez.

The Dutchman, who started alongside poleman Dennis Olsen, found his way past the Norwegian in the middle of the race and went on to take the checkered flag.

The race was interrupted early on after a series of incidents on the opening lap. Coming out of turn one, Koiranen teammates Hong Li Ye and Stefan Riener came to blows, while later on in the race, Kevin Jorg ended up spun around and collected by Ben Barnicoat at high speed.

It took a little less than ten minutes for the stricken cars to be removed and, at the restart, race leader Olsen confidently pulled ahead of de Vries.

However, the Koiranen man stayed within close proximity of the Norwegian over the subsequent laps and, on lap 8, went on to pull off a spectacular late-braking move into Curva Dry Sac to claim first place.

Despite missing out on the win, the Norwegian bagged enough points to claim the runner-up spot in the championship.

Having moved into third on the opening lap, Jack Aitken maintained the position until the end of the race, claiming his third podium of the campaign.

Hans Villemi originally slipped behind Alex Albon, but went on to overtake the KTR man later on to claim fourth.

Albon finished fifth, narrowly keeping the spot from Tech 1 wild card entrant George Russell. Another Tech 1 driver Anthoine Hubert was right behind in seventh, holding off Bruno Bonifacio.

Steijn Schothorst, Aurelien Panis and Callan O’Keeffe completed the points.

De Vries’ victory proved sufficient for Finnish squad Koiranen GP to claim the teams’ champions title a race early.

UPDATE: Dennis Olsen has been excluded from the results of the race due to a technical infringement.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 14 laps in 26:50.178
2 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +3.162
3 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +5.588
4 Alexander Albon KTR +10.603
5 George Russell Tech 1 Racing +10.688
6 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +11.093
7 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +11.669
8 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +12.203
9 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +13.546
10 Callan O’Keeffe KTR +16.091
11 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +16.542
12 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +20.723
13 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +21.831
14 Gregor Ramsay KTR +22.522
15 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +22.911
16 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team +23.963
17 James Allen KTR +26.313
18 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +27.137
19 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +31.828
Not classified
Pietro Fittipaldi Koiranen GP +3 laps
Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +12 laps
Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +14 laps
Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Jake Hughes Strakka Racing +14 laps
Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +14 laps
Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +14 laps
DSQ Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +1.064