Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC De Pasquale grabs win in first FR1.6 NEC race at Assen

De Pasquale grabs win in first FR1.6 NEC race at Assen

by Gruz David
Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Photo: Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior

Anton De Pasquale took his fifth victory out of seven races in the 2014 Formula Renault 1.6 NEC season in race one at Assen.

The Australian driver, who is spending his first season in Europe, managed to hold off Ralf Aron at the start and maintained a consistent pace throughout the race to cross the checkered flag in first.

Scuderia Nordica’s Aron celebrated his first podium finish of the NEC season, taking the flag less than three seconds behind the winner.

The podium was completed by karting graduate Ferdinand Habsburg, the second best Lechner driver after De Pasquale.

Although he lost a position at the start, Janneau Esmeijer – the only other race winner this season besides De Pasquale – managed to climb his way back up to fourth, followed by Austrian racer Florian Janits.

Max Defourny and Wouter Boerekamps finished sixth and seventh respectively. Provily’s Boris Kolff took eighth, very closely followed by Trackstar’s Pontus Fredricsson and Pirosports’ Cedric Piro.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Anton De Pasquale Lechner Racing School 12 laps in 21:34.242
2 Ralf Aron Scuderia Nordica +2.666
3 Ferdinand Habsburg Lechner Racing School +7.702
4 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +10.826
5 Florian Janits Lechner Racing School +13.594
6 Max Defourny Lechner Racing School +16.553
7 Wouter Boerekamps Provily Racing +20.147
8 Boris Kolff Provily Racing +22.396
9 Pontus Fredricsson Trackstar +22.873
10 Cedric Piro Pirosports +23.408
11 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +26.413
12 Otto Nico Captain Racing +30.573
13 Paul Sieljes Stuart Racing Team +34.101
14 Karl Ero Trackstar +52.599
Not classified
Paul Blomqvist Trackstar +2 laps
Larry ten Voorde Pirosports +11 laps
EX Marcel Lenerz Stuart Racing Team +12 laps