Home News De Haan and Ho join F4 UAE as grid grows to 31 cars for round three

De Haan and Ho join F4 UAE as grid grows to 31 cars for round three

by Ida Wood

Photo: Sauber Karting / Manuela Nicoletti

The Formula 4 United Arab Emirates grid has grown to 31 cars for the third round of the season this weekend at Dubai Autodrome.

MP Motorsport has replaced Rik Koen with Nicolas Todt protege and Sauber karting graduate Christian Ho, who will be making his car racing debut.

The Singaporean spent 2021 testing in F4 machinery, predominantly with AKM Motorsport, in addition to a trying second year in senior karting. As a rookie the year before he had come third in the IAME Asia Cup.

Prior to that he was a star of the OK-Junior scene, coming second in the FIA Karting Academy Trophy and the German Junior championship as well as third in the WSK Champions Cup and fourth in the CIK-FIA World Championship.

Having now turned 15, Giancarlo Fisichella’s racing student Valerio Rinicella will now join MP’s F4 UAE line-up too.

Pinnacle Motorsport is expanding to two cars for the remainder of the season, with Ginetta Junior race-winner Robert De Haan joining. De Haan raced in Ginettas after winning the series’ scholarship, and victory in the 2021 FEED Racing France shootout means he has a paid-for seat in a European F4 series this year too.

He made his single-seater debut last year with Van Amersfoort Racing, contesting the final rounds of the ADAC and Italian F4 championships and netting two top-five finishes from his six races.

Both got a taste of the new Tatuus T-421 car used in F4 UAE in a private test at Dubai on Wednesday. There were three sessions, with Prema’s Rafael Camara heading his stablemate Aiden Neate by 0.353 seconds at the top of the times across sessions two and three.

Only three other drivers were within a second of the pace, and PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard then slotted into third overall when he went fastest in session three. He headed Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne and Luke Browning, both also within a second of Camara’s benchmark. Ho was ninth fastest overall.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Rafael Camara Prema 2m00.785s 34
2 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.353s 35
3 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +0.438s 36
4 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +0.522s 31
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.570s 34
6 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +0.615s 35
7 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +0.665s 27
8 Luke Browning Hitech GP +0.677s 32
9 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +1.120s 33
10 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +1.129s 37
11 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +1.148s 22
12 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +1.163s 39
13 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +1.272s 38
14 Charlie Wurz Prema +1.333s 34
15 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +1.378s 34
16 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +1.428s 33
17 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +1.465s 37
18 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +1.471s 26
19 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +1.488s 33
20 Michael Shin JHR Developments +1.547s 32
21 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +1.602s 38
22 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +1.623s 33
23 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +1.659s 29
24 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +1.677s 35
25 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +1.816s 35
26 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +1.983s 36
27 Robert De Haan Pinnacle Motorsport +2.087s 34
28 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +2.790s 31
29 Yash Aradhya Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +3.303s 43
30 Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport +3.310s 36
31 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +3.973s 37