Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship David takes lights-to-flag FREC Red Bull Ring win

David takes lights-to-flag FREC Red Bull Ring win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FRECA

Hadrien David took a lights-to-flag victory in the second Formula Regional European Championship race at the Red Bull Ring.

The R-ace GP driver had little competition throughout the race, and was comfortably ahead of Dino Beganovic when the safety car was brought out at the end of the penultimate lap.

Beganovic finished second, extending his championship lead while rival Gabriele Mini finished fourth.

David held the lead off the line, but had no chance to extend a gap before the safety car was brough out for an incident between Roman Bilinski and Esteban Masson at Turn 7.

On the restart, David immediately pulled away, leaving Beganovic to deal with Joshua Dufek. Before Dufek could make a move, there was a second safety car interruption, this time caused by team-mates Mari Boya and Dilano van‘t Hoff colliding.

Again, David got a good restart. This time he couldn’t shake those behind, and spent the final stage of the race with three cars close behind. None were close enough to make a move, and he began to pull away on the penultimate lap when Lorenzo Fluxa hit the wall at turn four, bringing out the safety car for a third and final time.

The race would end under safety car conditions, leaving David to claim his third win of the season.

Mini climbed up from seventh on the grid to take fourth. A wide moment for Owen Tangavelou early on dropped the Race Performance Motorsport driver down the order, promoting Mini to sixth. He made quick work of Tangavelou’s team-mate Pierre-Louis Chovet, passing him before the first safety car period.

Gabrielle Bortoleto put up more of a fight. The pair ran side-by-side multiple times, with Chovet close behind waiting to take advantage. Mini managed to find a way through and Chovet pulled alongside Bortoleto, but the R-ace GP driver did not lose another position.

Bortoleto remained close to Mini but couldn’t think of making a move before the safety car came out.

Joshua Durksen took sixth late on, passing Chovet as he battled to stay ahead of Tangavelou. Another wide moment for Tangavelou dropped him further back, and he took the chequered flag 11th.

It was an eventful race for Tim Tramnitz. He first came up against Paul Aron, forcing him to run wide through the gravel, then was challenged by Eduardo Barrichello who found a way through at Turn 6 to finish eighth.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 33m48.566s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.368s
3 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +0.848s
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +0.957s
5 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +1.473s
6 Joshua Duerksen Arden +1.659s
7 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M +2.326s
8 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +2.676s
9 Tim Tramnitz Trident +3.014s
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +3.268s
11 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M +4.070s
12 Noel Leon Arden +4.237s
13 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +5.371s
14 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +6.294s
15 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +7.441s
16 Paul Aron Prema +7.546s
17 Sebastian Montoya Prema +7.688s
18 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +7.871s
19 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +9.194s
20 Gillian Henrion G4 Racing +9.869s
21 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +10.495s
22 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +10.825s
23 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +12.172s
24 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +12.772s
25 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing +14.184s
26 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +14.766s
27 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP +18.197s
28 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +18.423s
29 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport +18.547s
Ret Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP
Ret Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix
Ret Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport
Ret Mari Boya MP Motorsport
Ret Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix
Ret Roman Bilinski Trident
WD Tereza Babickova G4 Racing
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m27.411s

Championship standings
1 Beganovic 250   2 Mini 197   3 Aron 176   4 David 172   5 Haverkort 153   6 Bortoleto 127   7 Michael Belov 93   8 Boya 67   9 Fornaroli 60   10 Dufek 54