Home Featured David Schumacher claims dominant FIA F3 victory in Austria

David Schumacher claims dominant FIA F3 victory in Austria

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

David Schumacher dominated the second FIA Formula 3 Championship race of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring to claim his maiden win.

After a shake-up to the race one order, the Trident driver started from reversed-grid pole and was rarely challenged throughout the 24 lap race.

Despite a safety car period and multiple virtual safety car periods interrupting running, neither Roman Stanek nor Victor Martins could challenge for the race win.

Schumacher at one point had a lead of more than four seconds, and was two ahead of the rest of the field when he took the chequered flag.

The battle for second was much less simple. Stanek started third and came under pressure from Jak Crawford early on.

Contact between Logan Sargeant and Tijmen van der Helm brought out the safety car in the opening stages of the race. On the restart, Crawford kept the pressure on Stanek and was briefly able to get up to P2, only for an apparent mechanical problem to leave him going slow on track.

As Crawford plummeted to the back of the order, Juan Manuel Correa was hit from behind by Kaylen Frederick while they battled for third. Both drivers would be taken out of the race and the virtual safety car was deployed.

At this point Schumacher was two seconds clear of Stanek in second, but the Hitech GP driver had no time to try to close that gap. Martins was now on Stanek’s tail, trying to find a way past.

Martins attempted multiple moves but couldn’t make the pass stick. Eventually, on lap 15 of 24, he swept past Stanek with two wheels on the grass to take second.

Stanek then found himself under pressure from Frederik Vesti, but Martins was unable to pull away from the battle and close the gap to Schumacher.

At one point everyone from Martins in second to Arthur Leclerc in P12 was in a single train.

Vesti was trying to find a way past Martins late on when Martins suddenly started going slowly. He dropped down the order, and with only a handful of laps left, the incident was covered by double waved yellows.

Vesti was unable to close the gap to Schumacher in the time remaining and finished second.

Championship leader Dennis Hauger managed to avoid the drama to climb up to third ahead of Stanek and Jonny Edgar, who spent the closing stages of the race battling Jack Doohan.

Doohan would eventually be pipped to sixth by Leclerc, who produced another amazing climb up the order from 24th to sixth.

At the tail end of the top 10, Enzo Fittipaldi and Caio Collet had been battling when the two came together. Fittipaldi went slightly airborne but both were able to continue, only for Collet to cut back across Fittipaldi and be sent into the gravel.

The incident took Collet out of contention but Fittipaldi was able to keep going and finished eighth, with Olli Caldwell and Johnathan Hoggard completing the top 10.

Race results (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 David Schumacher Trident 35m26.498s
2 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix +2.009s
3 Dennis Hauger Prema +2.536s
4 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +3.404s
5 Jonny Edgar Carlin +5.108s
6 Arthur Leclerc Prema +5.816s
7 Jack Doohan Trident +6.641s
8 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +6.995s
9 Olli Caldwell Prema +7.337s
10 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport +8.272s
11 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing +9.720s
12 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +11.253s
13 Clement Novalak Carlin +11.501s
14 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +12.576s
15 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +13.191s
16 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +14.025s
17 Ido Cohen Carlin +17.776s
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab +18.396s
19 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +19.636s
20 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing +21.231s
21 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing +23.624s
22 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +24.187s
23 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System +24.462s
24 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +29.078s
25 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +1m15.296s
26 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +2 laps
Jak Crawford Hitech GP
Kaylen Frederick Carlin
Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport
Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System
Fastest lap: Leclerc, 1m21.702s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 97   2 Doohan 72   3 Martins 66   4 Caldwell 55   5 Novalak 49   6 Vesti 49   7 Smolyar 40   8 Collet 35   9 Leclerc 22   10 Edgar 22